Browse Authors:

Melissa Albert books in order

Melissa Albert is an American New York Times and indie bestselling author of young adult fantasy.

She is best known for writing the bestselling Hazel Wood Series.

The founding editor of the Barnes & Noble Teen Blog and the managing editor of, Melissa’s books have been translated into over 20 languages, on top of being included in the New York Times list of Notable Children’s Books.

The author currently resides in Brooklyn with her family.

More about Melissa Albert

Genres: Fantasy / SF, Young Adult

United States

Non Series

  • Our Crooked Hearts (2022)
  • The Bad Ones (2024)

Hazel Wood

  1. The Hazel Wood (2018)
  2. The Night Country (2020)
  3. Tales from the Hinterland: A collection of stories (2021)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Our Crooked Hearts

On the way home from a party, seventeen-year-old Ivy and her soon-to-be ex nearly run over a nude young woman standing in the middle of a tree-lined road. 

It’s only the first in a string of increasingly eerie events and offerings: a dead rabbit in the driveway, a bizarre concoction buried by her mother in the backyard, a box of childhood keepsakes hidden in her parents’ closet safe. Most unsettling of all, corroded recollections of Ivy and her enigmatic mother’s past resurface, with the help of the boy next door.

What if there’s more to Ivy’s mother than meets the eye? And what if the supernatural forces she messed with during her own teen years have come back to haunt them both? Ivy must grapple with these questions and more if she’s going to escape the darkness closing in.

Author: Melissa Albert
First Release: 2022
ISBN: 978-1250826381
Publisher: Flatiron Books
The Bad Ones

In the course of a single winter’s night, four people vanish without a trace across a suburban town.

Nora Powell’s estranged best friend, Becca, is one of the lost. As Nora tries to untangle the truth of Becca’s disappearance, she discovers a darkness in her suburb's past, as well as a string of coded messages Becca left for her to unravel. These clues lead Nora to a piece of local lore: a goddess folk figure of forgotten origins who played a role in Nora and Becca’s own childhood games....

Author: Melissa Albert
First Release: 2024
Publisher: Flatiron Books

Hazel Wood

The Hazel Wood

Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the uncanny bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her luck can really get: Her mother is stolen away―by a figure who claims to come from the Hinterland, the cruel supernatural world where her grandmother's stories are set. Alice's only lead is the message her mother left behind: “Stay away from the Hazel Wood.”

Alice has long steered clear of her grandmother’s cultish fans. But now she has no choice but to ally with classmate Ellery Finch, a Hinterland superfan who may have his own reasons for wanting to help her. To retrieve her mother, Alice must venture first to the Hazel Wood, then into the world where her grandmother's tales began―and where she might find out how her own story went so wrong.

Author: Melissa Albert
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1250147936
Publisher: Flatiron Books
The Night Country

With Finch’s help, Alice escaped the Hinterland and her reclusive grandmother’s dark legacy. Now she and the rest of the dregs of the fairy tale world have washed up in New York City, where Alice is trying to make a new, unmagical life. But something is stalking the Hinterland’s survivors―and she suspects their deaths may have a darker purpose. Meanwhile, in the winking out world of the Hinterland, Finch seeks his own adventure, and―if he can find it―a way back home...

Author: Melissa Albert
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-1250246097
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Tales from the Hinterland: A collection of stories

Before The Hazel Wood, there was Althea Proserpine’s Tales from the Hinterland...

Journey into the Hinterland, a brutal and beautiful world where a young woman spends a night with Death, brides are wed to a mysterious house in the trees, and an enchantress is killed twice―and still lives.

Author: Melissa Albert
First Release: 2021
ISBN: 978-1250302748
Publisher: Flatiron Books