Browse Authors:
  • Home
  • A
  • Pamela Alexander

Pamela Alexander books in order

Pamela Alexander is a celebrated American poet.

Born in 1948, she graduated from Bates College in 1970 and subsequently from the Iowa Writers' Workshop in 1973.

She has authored four collection of poems, namely Navigable Waterways, a Yale Younger Poet selection, Commonwealth of Wings (Wesleyan University Press), Inland and Slow Fire (Ausable Press).

Her craft has been featured in the New Yorker, Atlantic Monthly, Boston Book Review, Orion, TriQuarterly, Poetry and The Journal just to mention a few.

Pamela has received a number of accolades throughout her career; key among them being the 1985 Yale Younger Poet award, the 1996 Iowa Poetry Prize, Bunting Institute of Radcliffe College Fellowship and the Ohio Arts Council grant.

Having taught at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology for several years, Pamela Alexander joined the faculty of Oberlin College as an associate editor of Field magazine.

More about Pamela Alexander

Genre: Fantasy / SF

Born: 1948


Non Series

  • Commonwealth of Wings: An Ornithological Biography (1991)
  • Slow Fire (2007)
  • Inland (1997)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Commonwealth of Wings: An Ornithological Biography

Harmoniously bringing together nature, poetry and a biography, Pamela Alexander breathes life into John James Audubon in a captivating collection of 50 poems.

Having undertaken comprehensive and exhaustive research, Pamela Alexander presents first-person poems that re-picture Audubon’s life; taking in the form of letters, journal entries, historical vignettes, and lyrical passages.

John James Audubon appears more of a person rather than the legend that he is in this dramatic and exciting poem collection.

Author: Pamela Alexander
First Release: 1991
ISBN: 978-0819511935
Publisher: Wesleyan University Press
Slow Fire

Slow Fire is another evocative collection of poems by Pamela Alexander. In the book, the celebrated poet uses authentic and engrossing language to generate experiences that are strangely real—so much that the reader will inhabit them.

A keen lover of ecology and outdoor experience from the likes of Maine to Arizona, from the desert to the forest, this work of art by Alexander captivates on more than one level.

Author: Pamela Alexander
First Release: 2007
ISBN: 978-1931337342
Publisher: Ausable Press

With a heterogenic touch from the serenity of the New Hampshire woods to the isolation of the Arizona desert, often delivered with unerring accuracy, Pamela Alexander presents another masterpiece in Inland.

Even with the variety, the collection of poems still presents a humorous yet far-reaching view of human life and wildlife like never before.

Author: Pamela Alexander
First Release: 1997
ISBN: 978-0877455820
Publisher: University Of Iowa Press