Browse Authors:

Madelyn Alt books in order

Madelyn Alt is an American author of paranormal fantasy and cozy mystery novels.

She has so far authored seven books, all of which form The Bewitching Mystery series, which revolves around a small town single girl and her circle of ghost-hunting friends, who are determined to get to the bottom of increased paranormal disturbance in their sleepy town.

Contrary to the belief by sections that authors just sit down and flawlessly pen down their thoughts, Madelyn admits that writing a novel till the end is a daunting task—which is why she always needs her large box of chocolate to get through.

A lover of all things chocolate, Siamese cats, and cozy ghost stories, Madelyn spends her days in the monotonous world of business, and her nights penning down exciting paranormal tales.

More about Madelyn Alt

Genres: Cozy Mystery, Mystery, Paranormal Fantasy, Thriller

Born: 1969

United States


Bewitching Mystery

  1. The Trouble with Magic (2006)
  2. A Charmed Death (2006)
  3. Hex Marks the Spot (2007)
  4. No Rest for The Wiccan (2008)
  5. Where There's a Witch (2009)
  6. A Witch in Time (2010)
  7. Home for a Spell (2010)

Detailed book overview

Bewitching Mystery

The Trouble with Magic

Antiques-shop clerk Maggie O'Neill was a little weirded out when she discovered her new boss Felicity was a witch. But when Felicity becomes the suspect in a local murder, Maggie must enlist Felicity's wiccan friends for help--and discover her own spellbinding talent.

Author: Madelyn Alt
First Release: 2006
ISBN: 978-1597222068
Publisher: Wheeler Publishing
A Charmed Death

Maggie O'Neill was just a small-town girl, stuck in a dead-end job--until she started working at Enchantments, Stony Mill's finest mystical antique shop.

Now Maggie is Indiana's newest witch. Learning to cope with her newfound powers is tough enough, but add to that keeping the stock at Enchantments organized and remembering to tape reruns of her favorite show, Magnum, P.I., and Maggie's got a full plate.

But when she witnesses an altercation between a local teenage princess, and another customer in Enchantments--and later the girl turns up dead--she feels compelled to investigate. Though the police are at a loss, Maggie has some tricks up her sleeve, or to be more specific, some spells, charms, and mystical intuitions. And with the help of her boss (and favorite witch) Felicity Dow, Maggie is spellbound and determined to get to the bottom of this murder.

Author: Madelyn Alt
First Release: 2006
ISBN: 978-1597224734
Publisher: Wheeler Publishing
Hex Marks the Spot

While her boss becomes entranced with a beautiful armoire at the countywide craft bazaar, Maggie can't help noticing the Amish craftsman who made it. Though his clothes may be plain, he himself is more handsome than a man sporting a jawline-only beard has any right to be. And he seems pretty aware that the ladies love But when the hunky craftsman turns up dead with a strange hex symbol near his corpse, Maggie wonders if the craft involved is the witchy kind.

Author: Madelyn Alt
First Release: 2007
ISBN: 978-0425218709
Publisher: Berkley
No Rest for The Wiccan

Maggie O’Neill reluctantly volunteers to care for her bedridden, oh-so-perfect sister, Mel, but strange spirits threaten to divert her attention. Then a friend of Mel’s loses her husband to a dreadful fall, and the police call it an accidental death. Maggie’s not so sure, and sets her second sights on finding a first-degree murderer.

Author: Madelyn Alt
First Release: 2008
ISBN: 978-1597229654
Publisher: Wheeler Publishing
Where There's a Witch

Taking a break from her job at Enchantments, Stony Mill's finest mystical antique shop, Maggie O'Neill visits a carnival where she senses some bad spirits. And when a construction worker is suspected of killing a young woman, it's up to Maggie and the N.I.G.H.T.S. ghost-hunting team to uncover the dark spiritual energy leaking into their town before it spoils everyone's fun.

Author: Madelyn Alt
First Release: 2009
Ebook: B002AKPEDQ
Publisher: Berkley
A Witch in Time

Stony Mill, Indiana's newest witch, Maggie O'Neill, has been attached at the hip to the smoking-hot Marcus Quinn. Things couldn't get any better- until her sister Mel gives birth to not one, but two babies...

Maggie's visiting Mel in the hospital when a whispered conversation in a cafeteria sends chills down her spine. She can't make out what they're saying, but Maggie knows malice when she hears it. The next night, death visits the hospital...twice. Nobody bats an eye, but Maggie knows something sinister is haunting the hospital. Now she'll need help if she's going to tie two murders to one killer.

Author: Madelyn Alt
First Release: 2010
Ebook: B0030CVRWU
Publisher: Berkley
Home for a Spell

Back to work at her antique shop, Enchantments, Maggie's broken leg makes helping customers a lame proposition-but that doesn't mean the rest of her life is slowing down.

While her boyfriend, the magically- inclined Marcus, has some unfinished business to attend to and her best friend is getting ready to tie the knot and move away, Maggie decides it's time to find her own change of scenery. And she'll start by finally getting a new apartment.

But Maggie's new dream home turns into a nightmare when the apartment manager is found dead before she can even sign the lease. And Maggie finds herself not only searching for a new home-but for a frightfully clever killer...

Author: Madelyn Alt
First Release: 2010
Ebook: B004DI7I46
Publisher: Berkley