Browse Authors:

Leigh Bardugo books in order

Leigh Bardugo is a #1 New York Times bestselling author of fantasy novels.

Born in Jerusalem, Israel, Bardugo grew up in Southern California, and graduated in 1997 with an English degree from Yale University.

She has sold over three million copies of her books across the globe and currently lives and writes in Los Angeles.

More about Leigh Bardugo

Genres: Fantasy / SF, Young Adult

Born: 1975

United States


Non Series

  • Wonder Woman: Warbringer (2017)
  • The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic (2017)
  • Ninth House (2019)

Nikolai Duology

  1. King of Scars (2019)

Shadow and Bone Trilogy

  1. Shadow and Bone (2012)
  2. Siege and Storm (2013)
  3. Ruin and Rising (2014)

Six of Crows Duology

  1. Six of Crows (2015)
  2. Crooked Kingdom (2016)
Nikolai Duology

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Wonder Woman: Warbringer

Many will know her as Wonder Woman. Few know her as Diana, Princess of the Amazons.

Dianna breaks Amazon law by saving a mere mortal, something that places her on the verge of being exiled.

Alia Keralis however isn’t the average girl, she is a Warbringer—a direct offspring of the notorious Helen of Troy, destined to cause bloodshed and suffering.

All Alia wanted to do was to spend a semester at sea, a convenient way of running away from her overprotective brother. When a bomb however explodes on Alia’s ship, she is rescued by a strong and powerful woman.

Diana and Alia end up forming an unshakable alliance, determined to destroy any forces that rise against them.

Author: Leigh Bardugo
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-0399549762
Publisher: Ember
The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Love speaks in flowers. Truth requires thorns.

Travel to a world of shadowy bargains struck by moonlight, of haunted towns and hungry woods, of talking beasts and gingerbread golems; a world where a young mermaid can summon terrible storms by the simple sound of her voice, and where a river might do a favor for a lovestruck boy’s—albeit for a dreadful cost.

Inspired by myth, fairy tale, and folklore, this gripping collection of short stories is full of treachery, vengeance, sacrifice, and love—perfect for new readers and ardent fans.

Author: Leigh Bardugo
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-1250173928
Publisher: Imprint
Ninth House

Galaxy “Alex” Stern certainly isn’t the type to end up in a Yale freshman class.

Brought up by a hippie mom in the L.A hinterlands, she dropped out of school at an early age, with much of her life characterized by dubious drug dealer boyfriends and dead-end jobs.

Aged twenty, Alex is the only survivor of a deadly and mysterious multiple homicide.

Her life seems to have gone down the drain, until she is given an opportunity to attend one of the most prestigious universities in the world; on a mission to monitor the activities of Yale’s secret societies.

The occult activities are however more evil and incomprehensible beyond any wild imagination.

Author: Leigh Bardugo
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-1250258397

Nikolai Duology

King of Scars

Nobody knows what Nikolai Lantsov went through during the deadly civil war in his country—just the ways he wants it.

With enemies drawing ever closer to his weakened borders, the young king must devise a way of refilling Ravka’s coffers, gaining new allies, and stopping the growing threat to the once-great Grisha Army.

But as the days go by, the dark magic inside him grows stronger, seeking to ruin everything that he has built.

Nikolai will do whatever it takes to rescue his country and himself.

Some secrets aren’t however meant to stay buried, neither are some wounds destined to heal.

Author: Leigh Bardugo
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-1510105669
Publisher: Orion Children UK

Shadow and Bone Trilogy

Shadow and Bone
Flocking with enemies, the once-powerful nation of Ravka has been split into two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of sheer darkness swarming with creatures that feed on human flesh.

Alina Starkov isn’t the exceptional type, until a dormant power saves her life after her regiment is attacked.

Forced to leave her loved ones, Alina is taken to the royal court where she is trained as a member of the Grisha—the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling. But in this world full of luxury, nothing is what it seems.

With darkness drawing closer, the fate of the entire kingdom will rest upon her untapped power.
Author: Leigh Bardugo
First Release: 2012
ISBN: 978-1250027436
Publisher: Square Fish
Siege and Storm

Darkness truly never dies.

Hunted across the True Sea, Alina is haunted by the blood she shed on the Fold.

She struggles to make a life with Mal in a strange territory, all while concealing her identity as the Sun Summoner.

The Darkling however rises from the Shadow Fold with a horrifying new power and a devastating plan way beyond the limits of the natural world.

Returning to the land she once deserted, Alina is determined to rebel against the forces plotting against Ravka.

With a storm on the horizon, Alina will be forced to choose between her country, her power, and the love she thought would always lead her.

Author: Leigh Bardugo
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-1250044433
Publisher: Square Fish
Ruin and Rising

The capital has been conquered. The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Alina is somewhere inside a primeval web of tunnels and caverns. Incapacitated, she must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots loyal to her.

Her mind is however preoccupied with the search for the evasive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Forced to forget old rivalries and form new alliances, Alina and Mal set off to search for the last of Morozova’s amplifiers.

However, what she doesn’t know is that claiming the firebird will cost her the same future she is fighting for.

Author: Leigh Bardugo
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-1250063168
Publisher: Square Fish

Six of Crows Duology

Six of Crows

Ketterdam is a centre of international trade where anything can be had for the right price.

Criminal mastermind Kaz Brekker is presented with an opportunity to steal riches beyond his wildest dreams. He however can’t do it alone…

A convict seeking for vengeance; a sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager; a runaway with a fortunate past; a spy known as the Wraith; heartrender who uses her magic to survive the slums; a thief with the ability to make the most unexpected of escapes.

Six feared outcasts. One impractical heist.

They may succeed, if they don’t kill each other first.

Author: Leigh Bardugo
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-1250076960
Publisher: Square Fish
Crooked Kingdom

Kaz Brekker and his crew have successfully completed a heist so bold that none of them imagined they would make it out alive.

But instead of sharing their reward, the band goes back to fighting for their lives after an act of treachery leaves them a member short, with limited resources, allies, and hope.

As mighty forces from around the planet descend on Ketterdam to uncover the secrets of the notorious drug known as jurda parem, old foes and new rivals will emerge—challenging the team’s frail loyalties.

A struggle for revenge and redemption will seal the fate of the Grisha world.

Author: Leigh Bardugo
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1250076977
Publisher: Square Fish