Browse Authors:

Pierce Brown books in order

Pierce Brown is an American #1 New York Times Bestselling author of the Red Rising Series.

Born in Denver, Colorado, Brown graduated at Pepperdine University where he studied political science and economics.

Having graduating college in 2010, he wished to have continued his studies at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry; something that didn’t come to pass for the sole reason that he doesn't have a single magical bone in his body.

Brown wrote six novels which were all rejected by over 120 agents before Red Rising was finally sold.

He currently lives in Los Angeles where he scribbles spaceships, wizards, ghouls, and any other bizarre possible.

More about Pierce Brown

Genres: Fantasy / SF, Young Adult

Born: 1988

United States


Red Rising Series

  1. Red Rising (2014)
  2. Golden Son (2015)
  3. Morning Star (2016)
  4. Iron Gold (2018)
  5. Dark Age (2019)
  6. Light Bringer (2023)

Detailed book overview

Red Rising Series

Red Rising

Darrow, a miner and a Red, digs all day hoping that he and his people are making the surface of the planet more habitable for posterity.

He and his kind however discover that they have been betrayed, having already reached the surface generations ago. To the decadent ruling class, they are nothing more than slaves.

Inspired by justice and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow becomes part of a resistance group as a way of invading the ruling class and destroying the society right from the nerve centre.

And he will do whatever it takes to stop his enemies…even if it means becoming one of them.

Author: Pierce Brown
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-0345539809
Publisher: Del Rey
Golden Son

Darrow grew up digging deep beneath the surface of Mars with the hope that his people will have a better future.

However betrayed by the Golds, the elite ruling class, Darrow sacrifices himself for the greater good of the Eo —the source of his love and motivation.

He becomes the same thing he hates as a way of penetrating the elite realm, just so he can get the chance to destroy them from within.

A Gold on the outside but a rebel within, Darrow must follow Eo’s principles of love and justice should he wish to lead his oppressed generation to freedom.

Author: Pierce Brown
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-0345539830
Publisher: Del Rey
Morning Star

Darrow would have lived in peace had his enemies not brought him war. With his wife hanged, his people enslaved ad his obedience demanded, what more could he do other than fight back?

At long last, the time has come for him to destroy the society right from within.

Darrow and his comrades however face incredible forces whose mercy is without limit.

In order to win, he must spell confidence into them, and make them overcome their cruel masters.

Author: Pierce Brown
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-0345539861
Publisher: Del Rey
Iron Gold

He is on his thirty-second year of his life during the tenth year of war. Although he strongly believed that he would break the chains of the Society, the Rising had other plans.

With nothing but endless war as their fate, Darrow must put everything on the line in order to attain peace and stability. He is convinced that he can save everyone, but can he really save himself?

As he seeks to attain his fate, other destinies will entwine with his, altering his fate forever.

Red Rising marked the end one universe. Iron Gold will witness the creation a new one.

Author: Pierce Brown
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-0425285930
Publisher: Del Rey
Dark Age

Darrow led a rebellion against the corrupt color-coded Society for almost a decade now.

Banned and kicked out by the same Republic that he founded, he dictates war on Mercury as a way of hoping that he can still rescue the dream of Eo.

This however sees him leave a series death and destruction in his wake.

Is he still the same hero who broke the chains, or will another force awake to claim his place?

Author: Pierce Brown
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-1473646773
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Light Bringer

“The measure of a man is not the fear he sows in his enemies. It is the hope he gives his friends.”—Virginia au Augustus  

The Reaper is a legend, more myth than man: the savior of worlds, the leader of the Rising, the breaker of chains.   

But the Reaper is also Darrow, born of the red soil of Mars: a husband, a father, a friend.

The worlds once needed the Reaper. But now they need Darrow. Because after the dark age will come a new age: of light, of victory, of hope.  

Author: Pierce Brown
First Release: 2023
Ebook: B0B5Z4RZ2W
Publisher: Del Rey