Browse Authors:
  • Home
  • C
  • Lucy Christopher

Lucy Christopher books in order

Lucy Christopher is a British Australian writer, teacher, speaker, academic, and Course Director at Bath Spa University.

Born in Wales, she was raised in Australia where she obtained an undergraduate degree at Melbourne University.

Lucy later moved back to the UK where she earned a distinction in a Creative Writing MA from Bath Spa University.

The Long Flight, which was the novel she wrote for this class, was eventually picked up by a publisher under the name Flyaway (2010).

Lucy is best known for her debut novel Stolen (2009), which was written as part for her PhD degree.

More about Lucy Christopher

Genres: Fantasy / SF, Literary Fiction, Mystery, Young Adult

Born: 1981

United Kingdom


Non Series

  • Stolen (2009)
  • Flyaway (2010)
  • The Killing Woods (2013)
  • Three Strikes (2018)
  • Storm-Wake (2018)
  • Shadow (2019)

Detailed book overview

Non Series


Sixteen-year-old Gemma is at the Bangkok Airport for a connecting flight to Vietnam where she and her parent are going on vacation.

When she leaves them for a while to get a cup of coffee, Gemma crosses paths with a rough, tan and strangely familiar man who ends up paying for her drink.

The only problem is that the man, named Ty, ends up kidnapping her after spiking her drink; taking her to the brutal and isolated Australian Outback.

Unbeknownst to Gemma is the fact that she has been the object of his fascination for a number of years.

But as they spend more time together, Gemma sees a different side of her captor.

Could this be true love, or Stockholm Syndrome?

Author: Lucy Christopher
First Release: 2009
ISBN: 978-0545170949
Publisher: Chicken House

Isla and her father were performing their annual tradition of racing across the fields following the swans at the lake, when her father suddenly dropped to the ground.

Before she knows it, she is at the back of an ambulance, desperately holding her father’s hand as he fights for his life.

It's while at the hospital that her path entwines with that of Harry, a terminally ill boy who becomes the first not to laugh at her queer outdoor passion.

The two then watch as a lone swan struggles to fly on the lake. If Isla helps the wounded swan to fly, could she somehow save Harry and perhaps her dad too?

Author: Lucy Christopher
First Release: 2010
ISBN: 978-1910002209
Publisher: Chicken House
The Killing Woods

When the lifeless body of a teenage girl named Ashlee is discovered in the woods one hot summer night, Emily’s dad is accused of the murder.

What could have happened in the woods behind their house, the same place where Emily used to play as a child, on the night of the killing?

Having known the victim and determined to uncover the truth, Emily enlists the help of Damon Hillary, Ashlee’s mysterious boyfriend.

As the two look through the woods desperately trying to uncover clues, Emily and Damon find out more about the darkness that could very well reside within them.

With that, an exploration of the woods soon turns into an exploration of themselves and each other.

Author: Lucy Christopher
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-0545461016
Publisher: Chicken House
Three Strikes

This book is a collection of three dark novellas by three renowned Young Adult authors Lucy Christopher, Kat Ellis and Rhian Ivory.

Having answered the advert for The Tribe, Kasha now sits alone, writing in the jungle. Could she be the only one left? Suddenly, she notices a red light blinking in the darkness. Is she really alone?

Bo visits her best friend’s grave every evening. Then one day, she hears a girl’s voice.

Nia is terribly beaten after being mugged in a tunnel. And the only thing she is left with is three matches.

Author: Lucy Christopher
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1910080863
Publisher: Firefly Press

“This story begins with a dream, and its dreamer.”

Moss has been living with her pa on a distant island for as long as she can recall.

When the Old World vanishes underneath the waves, the only hope of salvation is Pa's magic, harnessing the marvellous stormflowers on the island.

Will the sunken continents however be saved, given how a mighty storm is brewing; one that threatens to bring with it terrible consequences.

Author: Lucy Christopher
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1906427733
Publisher: Chicken House

This book revolves around a young child who moves into a new house.

Continuously ignored by her preoccupied Mum, she ends up becoming friends with a shadow she finds under the bed.

The two then engage in mischief and make their way to the woods where the young girl discovers that there are shadows everywhere.

However, after a while, the young child is finally found by Mum.

Inspired by the personal experiences of the author, who moved to various houses and countries as a child, this book is about solitude, sorrow, and the eventual awareness of darkness and shadows.

Author: Lucy Christopher
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-1911373834
Publisher: Lantana Publishing