Browse Authors:

Lucy Clarke books in order

Lucy Clarke is a British Sunday Times bestselling author of mystery and psychological thriller novels.

She is best known for writing books such as Swimming at Night (2013), A Single Breath (2014), The Blue (2015), Last Seen (2017), among others.

Her books have been sold in more than 20 territories, while her debut novel was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick.

Passionate about traveling, Lucy is a beach hut dweller who is married to a professional windsurfer.

They have two children and enjoy spending their winters traveling, and their summers at home.

They live on the south coast of England, where Lucy gets her writing inspiration from.

More about Lucy Clarke

Genres: Mystery, Psychological Thriller, Suspense

United Kingdom


Non Series

  • Swimming at Night (2013)
  • A Single Breath (2014)
  • The Blue (2015)
  • Last Seen (2017)
  • You Let Me In (2018)
  • The Castaways (2020)
  • One of the Girls (2022)
  • The Hike (2023)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Swimming at Night

People go traveling for two reasons: because they are searching for something, or they are running from something.

Katie’s world is shattered by the news that her headstrong and bohemian younger sister, Mia, has been found dead at the bottom of a cliff in Bali. The authorities say that Mia jumped—that her death was a suicide.

Although they’d hardly spoken to each other since Mia suddenly left on an around-the-world trip six months earlier, Katie refuses to accept that her sister would have taken her own life. Distraught that they never made peace, Katie leaves behind her orderly, sheltered life in London and embarks on a journey to discover the truth.

With only the entries of Mia’s travel journal as her guide, Katie retraces the last few months of her sister’s life, and—page by page, country by country—begins to uncover the mystery surrounding her death.

NB: This book is also known as The Sea Sisters.

Author: Lucy Clarke
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-1451683417
Publisher: Touchstone
A Single Breath

A young widow discovers her husband was not who he claimed to be—and finds herself falling in love with the wrong man.

Eva has only been married for eight months when her husband, Jackson, is swept to his death while fishing. Weighed down by confusion and sorrow, Eva decides to take leave of her midwifery practice and visit Jackson’s estranged family with the hope of grieving together.

Instead, she discovers that the man she loved so deeply is not the man she thought she knew. Jackson’s father and brother reveal a dark past, exposing the lies her marriage was built upon. 

As Eva struggles to come to terms with the depth of Jackson’s deception, she must also confront her growing attraction to Jackson’s brother, Saul, who offers her intimacy, passion, and answers to her most troubling questions.

Will Eva be able to move forward, or will she be caught up in a romance with Saul, haunted by her husband’s past?

Author: Lucy Clarke
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-1476750156
Publisher: Touchstone
The Blue

They found paradise.…What would they do to keep it?

Lana and her best friend Kitty leave home looking for freedom—and that’s exactly what they find when they are invited onto The Blue, a fifty-foot yacht making its way from the Philippines to New Zealand. Manned by a young crew of wanderers, The Blue is exactly the escape they are looking for and the two quickly fall under its spell, spending their days exploring remote islands and their rum-filled nights relaxing on deck beneath the stars.

Yet paradise found can just as quickly become lost. Lana and Kitty begin to discover that they aren’t the only ones with secrets they’d rather run from than reveal. And when one of their new friends disappears overboard after an argument with the other crewmembers, the dark secrets that brought each of them aboard start to unravel.

Author: Lucy Clarke
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-1501123023
Publisher: Gallery Books
Last Seen

Seven years ago, two boys went missing at sea - and only one was brought to shore. The Sandbank, a remote stretch of coast dotted with beach huts, was scarred forever.

Sarah's son survived, but on the anniversary of the accident, he disappears without trace. As new secrets begin to surface, The Sandbank hums with tension and unanswered questions. Sarah's search grows more desperate, and she starts to mistrust everyone she knows - and she's right to.

Someone saw everything on that fateful day seven years ago. And they'll do anything to keep the truth buried.

Author: Lucy Clarke
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-0007563388
Publisher: Harper Collins
You Let Me In

Nothing has felt right since Elle rented out her house....

I'm in your house.

There's a new coldness. A shift in the atmosphere. The prickling feeling that someone is watching her every move from the shadows.

I'm in your head.

Maybe it's all in Elle's mind? She's a writer – her imagination, after all, is her strength. And yet every threat seems personal. As if someone has discovered the secrets that keep her awake at night.

And now I know your secret.

As fear and paranoia close in, Elle's own home becomes a prison. Someone is unlocking her past – and she's given them the key....

Author: Lucy Clarke
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-0008262570
Publisher: Harper Collins
The Castaways





You wake on a beautiful, remote island.

Sparkling blue seas, golden sunsets, barely a footprint in the sand.

Yet this is no ordinary escape.

Next to the wreck of a plane, a stranger paces. Another sharpens a knife, scoring a list of the dead onto a palm tree. Others watch from the shadows of a campfire – all with untold stories, and closely-guarded secrets…

This is no ordinary holiday.

This is no ordinary island.

This is no ordinary beach read.

Author: Lucy Clarke
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-0008340919
Publisher: Harper Collins
One of the Girls

It was supposed to be the perfect weekend away. Six very different women travel to a sun-soaked Greek island for a bachelorette trip, to celebrate Lexi’s upcoming wedding. 

From the glorious ocean views to the quaint tavernas and whitewashed streets, the vacation seems too good to be true. But dangerous undercurrents run beneath the sunset swims and midnight cocktails – because each of the women is hiding a secret. Someone is determined to make sure that Lexi’s marriage never happens – and that one of them doesn’t leave the island alive.

Author: Lucy Clarke
First Release: 2022
ISBN: 978-0008462413
Publisher: Harper Fiction
The Hike

No help.

No cell coverage.

No one to hear them scream.

Burned-out by both her marriage and work, Liz is desperate for an escape. More than that, she craves an adventure, a total reset. So, when she plans a vacation with her three best friends, she persuades them to spend four nights camping in the stunning mountains of Norway. Following a trail that climbs through lush valleys, towering peaks, and past jewel-blue lakes, Liz is sure that the hike is just what they need.

But as they stride farther from civilization, it becomes clear that the women are not the only ones looking to lose themselves in the mountains. The wilderness hides secrets darker than they could ever have imagined, and if they’re not careful . . . not all of them will return.

Author: Lucy Clarke
First Release: 2023
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons