Browse Authors:

Daniel Cole books in order

Daniel Cole is a British Sunday Times and Internationally bestselling author of mystery, suspense and crime fiction novels.

He is best known for writing the bestselling Ragdoll Series, which has since been adapted into an AMC Plus series.

Born in the United Kingdom, Daniel held a number of different jobs before becoming a full-time writer, including working as a paramedic, and an officer for the RSPCA (Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals)—with his most recently held job being with the RNLI (Royal National Lifeboat Institution).

According to Daniel, the motive behind the kind of jobs he did emanated either from his inherent desire to rescue those in distress, or from his guilty conscience due to the number of characters he kills in his writing.

The author currently lives in Bournemouth, England, where he enjoys going to the beach and visiting the forest.

More about Daniel Cole

Genres: Crime Suspense, Mystery, Thriller

United Kingdom

Non Series

  • Mimic (2021)


  1. Ragdoll (2017)
  2. Hangman (2018)
  3. Endgame (2019)
Non Series

Detailed book overview

Non Series


DS Benjamin Chambers and DC Adam Winter are hunting a twisted serial killer who recreates famous works of art using the bodies of his victims. But after Chambers almost loses his life, the case goes cold - the killer lying dormant, his collection unfinished.

Jordan Marshall has excelled within the Met Police, driven by a loss that defined her teenage years. She obtains new evidence, convincing both Chambers and Winter to revisit the case. However, this new investigation reawakens their killer, the team in desperate pursuit of a monster hell-bent on finishing what he started at any cost.

Author: Daniel Cole
First Release: 2021
ISBN: 978-1409198024
Publisher: Orion



William Fawkes, a controversial detective known as The Wolf, has just been reinstated to his post after he was suspended for assaulting a vindicated suspect. Still under psychological evaluation, Fawkes returns to the force eager for a big case. When his former partner and friend, Detective Emily Baxter, calls him to a crime scene, he’s sure this is it: the body is made of the dismembered parts of six victims, sewn together like a puppet—a corpse that becomes known as “The Ragdoll.”

Fawkes is tasked with identifying the six victims, but that gets dicey when his reporter ex-wife anonymously receives photographs from the crime scene, along with a list of six names, and the dates on which the Ragdoll Killer plans to murder them.

The final name on the list is Fawkes.

Baxter and her trainee partner, Alex Edmunds, hone in on figuring out what links the victims together before the killer strikes again. But for Fawkes, seeing his name on the list sparks a dark memory, and he fears that the catalyst for these killings has more to do with him—and his past—than anyone realizes.

Ragdoll (TV series)
Director: Niall MacCormick, Toby MacDonald
Cast: Henry Lloyd-Hughes, Thalissa Teixeira, Lucy Hale, Michael Smiley, Ali Cook, Natasha Little, Kobna Holdbrook-Smith, Angus Wright, Amita Dhiri, Phil Davis, Camilla Beeput, Douggie McMeekin, Samantha Spiro, Sam Troughton
Author: Daniel Cole
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-0062653963
Publisher: Ecco

A detective with no one to trust. A killer with nothing to lose.

Detective Emily Baxter is still reeling from the Ragdoll case, and from the disappearance of her friend William “Wolf” Fawkes. Despite her reluctance to jump into another gruesome case, she’s summoned to a meeting of a new FBI/CIA/UK law enforcement task force in New York. There, she is presented with photographs of the latest copycat murder: a body contorted into a familiar pose, strung up from the Brooklyn Bridge, the word “BAIT” carved deep into its chest.

As the media pressure intensifies, Baxter is ordered to assist with the investigation and attend the scene of another murder, again with a victim inscribed with a word—“PUPPET.”

The murders continue to grow in spectacle and depravity on both sides of the Atlantic, and the team helplessly plays catch-up. Baxter must shake off the grief and fear that have paralyzed her for the last year so she can stop another terrible killer before it’s too late.

Author: Daniel Cole
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-0062653994
Publisher: Ecco

A locked room. A dead body. A secret that went to the grave.

When retired police officer Finlay Shaw is found dead in a locked room, everyone thinks it's suicide. But disgraced detective William 'Wolf' Fawkes isn't so sure.

Together with his former partner Detective Emily Baxter and private detective Edmunds, Wolf's team begin to dig into Shaw's early days on the beat. Was Shaw as innocent as he seemed? Or is there more to his past than he'd ever let on?

But not everyone wants Wolf back - and as his investigation draws him ever deeper into police corruption, it will not only be his career on the line - but the lives of those he holds closest as well...

Author: Daniel Cole
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-1409168867
Publisher: Trapeze