Browse Authors:
Choose
  • Home
  • D
  • Jennifer Donnelly

Jennifer Donnelly books in order

Jennifer Donnelly is an American bestselling, award-winning author of The Waterfire Saga and The Tea Rose Trilogy.

Raised in Lewis and Westchester counties in New York State, Donnelly attended the University of Rochester where she majored in English Literature and European History.

Her book A Northern Light (2003), which won the 2003 Carnegie Medal, went on to be named among The 100 Best Young Adult Books of All Time by Time Magazine in 2015.

Donnelly currently lives in Hudson Valley, New York with her husband and daughter.

More about Jennifer Donnelly

Genres: Historical Fiction, Young Adult

Born: 1963

United States

Website: https://www.jenniferdonnelly.com/

Non Series
  • Humble Pie (2002)
  • A Northern Light (2003)
  • Revolution (2010)
  • These Shallow Graves (2015)
  • Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book (2017)
  • Fatal Throne (2018)
  • Stepsister (2019)
The Tea Rose Trilogy
  1. The Tea Rose (2002)
  2. The Winter Rose (2008)
  3. The Wild Rose (2011)
The Waterfire Saga
  1. Deep Blue (2014)
  2. Rogue Wave (2015)
  3. Dark Tide (2015)
  4. Sea Spell (2016)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Humble Pie

Little Theo is a lot like a rotten old apple. There are not enough words to describe how rude, selfish, thoughtless and unkind he is.

As her way of repressing his annoying behavior, Theo’s wise grandmother prepares a colossus pie that he can never resist.

Being Theo, he takes one bit after another until he is imprisoned inside the mystical pie.

Angered, he bounces and jolts in his pastry prison throughout a magical medieval countryside and towards a waiting oven where he could very well get his desserts.

This boisterous picture book illustrated by Stephen Gammell received the Caldecott Medal for Song and Dance Man, and two Caldecott Honor Citations for The Relatives Came and Where the Buffaloes Begin.

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2002
ISBN: 978-1416967514
Publisher: Aladdin
A Northern Light

The year is 1906.

Mattie Gokey is a sixteen-year-old girl trying to make it in a man’s world. She spends her summer working at a resort on Big Moose Lake in the Adirondack mountains in order to make some money.

Usure of what to do with the money, she could either use it as dowry to marry the gorgeous but boring Royal Loomis, use it to rescue her father’s farm or perhaps buy a train ticket to New York City.

Mattie’s personal worries however matter little when the drowned body of a young woman who gave her a packet of love letters is discovered.

From the letters, Mattie is certain that the drowning was everything but an accident.

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2003
ISBN: 978-0152053956
Publisher: Harcourt Paperbacks
Revolution

“Two girls, two centuries apart.”

This story based on two girls.

One girl, who lives in present day Brooklyn, has had to endure the loss of her younger brother, while the other girl lived in 18th Century Paris where she witnessed one of the most dreadful crimes of the French Revolution.

Andi is the Brooklyn girl while Alex is the French girl.

When Andi comes across Alexandrine’s diary, it served as a much needed distraction, until one midnight journey through the catacombs of Paris changes everything.

This is the story of how the changes we experience as human beings as we struggle to understand our world and the tragedies in it.

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2010
ISBN: 978-0385737647
Publisher: Ember
These Shallow Graves

The year is 1890 in New York.

Being one of the most desirable heiresses in the city, Josephine Montfort understands the importance of doing what is expected more than anyone else.

Her world is however shattered after the sudden death of her father.

Although his death seems like nothing more than an unfortunate accident, Jo can’t help but question the events that led to his demise.

If it wasn’t accidental, could it have been suicide, or even murder?

In her quest to unravel the truth, Jo crosses paths with handsome Eddie Gallagher who shows her just how dangerous digging up one’s family’s past can be.

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-0385737661
Publisher: Ember
Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book

Lost in a Book is an original addition to the esteemed Beauty and the Beast fairy tale that follows the lonesome journey of one Belle who comes across an mystical book in the Beast's library called Nevermore; one that takes her to a dazzling new world.

It is there that Belle sparks a friendship with a strange countess who gives her the life she has always dreamed of.

However, there is more to Nevermore than meets the eye. And the more time Belle spends there, the harder it becomes to leave.

As Belle gets lost in this book, she could very well get stuck there, forever!

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-1484780985
Publisher: Disney Press
Fatal Throne

King Henry VIII was a charming and exorbitant ruler who was consumed with power just as much as he was with siring a male heir.

The six wives were his queens, each of them condemned to divorce, beheading or death.

Recreated by seven celebrated bestselling authors, Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All is a riveting tale told in the first-person point of view, perfect for fans of Wolf Hall and Netflix’s The Crown.

It has been written by:
M. T. Anderson as Henry VIII
Candace Fleming as Katharine of Aragon
Stephanie Hemphill as Anne Boleyn
Lisa Ann Sandell as Jane Seymour
Jennifer Donnelly as Anna of Cleves
Linda Sue Park as Catherine Howard
Deborah Hopkinson as Kateryn Parr

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1984830333
Publisher: Ember
Stepsister

Isabelle should be elated that she is on the verge of winning the striking prince, but she isn’t.

Isabelle is nowhere near the pretty girl who lost the glass slipper and stole the heart of the prince; she is rather the ugly stepsister who cut off her toes in order to fit into Cinderella's shoe—shoes now filling with blood.

She cut away pieces of herself just so she could fit in. That however just made her rude and resentful.

This is an aggressively feminist reimagining of Cinderella that shows us how ugly is just in the eye of the beholder.

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-1338268478
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

The Tea Rose Trilogy

The Tea Rose

Fiona Finnegan is a worker in a tea factory while Joe Bristow is the son of a costermonger.

Desperate to one day own a shop of their own, the two save and sacrifice in order to fulfill their dreams.

The actions of a sinister man however forces Fiona to flee from London to New York where ghosts from her past steer her to rise from a humble West Side shop front to the top of Manhattan’s tea trade.

But in order to silence the ghosts, Fiona must head back to the London of her childhood where a dangerous face off with her past will hold the key to her future.

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2002
ISBN: 978-0312378028
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
The Winter Rose

The year is 1900.

As threatening as the streets of East London may be, especially for a courteous woman, India Selwyn Jones is a female doctor determined to make a difference.

There, she saves the life of Sid Malone—the most dangerous gangster in London.

Tough, aggressive and sinfully seductive, Malone is a sharp contrast to India’s chill and aristocratic fiancé who is becoming a force to reckon with in the House of Commons.

Although Malone represents everything that India strongly stands against, she still finds herself mysteriously attracted to him.

Theirs is a love impossible, yet they will cling to it with their lives.

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2008
ISBN: 978-1401307462
Publisher: Hachette Books
The Wild Rose
The year is 1914 in London.

World War I is edging closer, the fight for women's suffrage is on course and explorers are pushing the limits of endurance.

Three exceptional people come into the picture:

Willa Alden is a fervent mountain climber who lost her leg while summiting Kilimanjaro with Seamus Finnegan. She is bitter that he saved her life.

Seamus Finnegan is a polar explorer who is determined erase Willa from his memory as he courts a stunning young school teacher.

Max von Brandt is a gorgeous German sophisticate who moves into the affluent side of London with a hidden agenda.

These three lives are interwoven in a tale of forsaken loves, secret loyalties, and treacherous lies.
Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2011
ISBN: 978-1401307479
Publisher: Hachette Books

The Waterfire Saga

Deep Blue

Serafina, mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea and daughter of Queen Isabella of Miromara, has been brought up with the expectation that she will one day become the ruler of the oldest civilization of the merfolk.

On the eve of her Dokimi ceremony, Sera is disturbed by a strange dream foretelling the return of a dark ancient power.

As she carefully practices her songspell and impatiently waits for the return of her best friend, Neela, Sera worries about winning the love of the crown prince of Matali: troubled even more by the concern that she won't live up to her mother’s hopes.

When an assassin wounds the Queen during the Dokimi, Sera and Neela launch a desperate quest to identify the assassin’s master and prevent a war between mer nations.

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-1484713105
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Rogue Wave

Upon being summoned by the leader of the river witches, Serafina, Neela, Ling, Ava, Becca, and Astrid are shocked to learn that they are the descendants of the Six Who Ruled—mighty mages who once ruled the lost empire of Atlantis.

The dark ancient force that brought Atlantis to the ground has returned and only the six chosen mermaids can defeat it.

But for them to succeed, they must first find the mystical talismans that belonged to the Six.

As they go against the fangs of death, they will endure a game-changing betrayal, as frightful as a rogue wave.

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-1484713013
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Dark Tide

Once a disoriented and unsettled princess, Serafina is now the assertive leader of the Black Fins—a disreputable group of soldiers determined to thwart the plans of her back-stabbing uncle and his death riders.

As Sera looks for allies with war on the horizon, her mermaid friends face their fair share of challenges.

Ling is being led to a prison camp while Becca finally finds out why the Ondalinian mermaid is always so angry. Ava on the other hand can’t return home because of the death riders.

Will they find the four talismans before it’s too late?

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-1484713020
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Sea Spell

Ava is on a desperate search for another talisman in the Mississippi swamps. If her mission is to be successful, she must face and defeat the murderous Okwa Naholo spirits. Her unseeing eyes could however for the first time play to her advantage, as no mer who looks upon the creatures ever lives to tell about it.

Meanwhile, Serafina, Becca, Ling, and Neela--along with the Black Fin and goblin troops--are in the Kargjord preparing for war on two fronts.

Will Sera ever see her home again, and her beloved Mahdi, or will the Volneros take over the mer realms while Orfeo takes on the gods themselves?

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1484713037
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion