Browse Authors:

Ashley Dyer books in order

Ashley Dyer is the pseudonym of British internationally acclaimed bestselling author of psychological thrillers, Margaret Murphy, working in consultation with policing and forensics expert, Helen Pepper.

Born in the maritime city of Liverpool, Margaret chose to author her forensic thriller novels under the pseudonyms Ashley Dyer and A. D. Garrett.

She is a former Chair of the UK Crime Writers Association (CWA), founder of Murder Squad, and a former RLF Writing Fellow and Reading Round Lector.

Margaret has throughout her career served as a country park ranger, biology teacher, dyslexia specialist and Visiting Professor in creative writing.

More about Ashley Dyer

Genres: Mystery, Thriller

Born: 1959

United Kingdom


Carver and Lake Books

  1. Splinter in the Blood (2018)
  2. The Cutting Room (2019)

Detailed book overview

Carver and Lake Books

Splinter in the Blood

Detective Greg Carver, who has for months been chasing after a vicious killer dubbed the Thorn Killer, is shot in his own home.

Although his reliable partner, Ruth Lake, is with him, she instead clears all the evidence, rather than calling for help.

Carver however isn’t dead.

As he wakes up in the hospital with no recollection of what happened, Carver is convinced that Thorn Killer was behind his attack, despite having no evidence to back his claims.

Carver however won’t be cowed into submission. He will do whatever it takes to catch the killer before more blood is shed.

Author: Ashley Dyer
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1472151025
Publisher: Corsair
The Cutting Room

Coaxed into visiting a “crime scene” by a puzzling digital request, Ruth Lake is shocked when she finds a ghastly tableau surrounded by a group of onlookers.

This is just the latest “art installation” by a deranged serial killer dubbed the Ferryman.

Fully taking advantage of Britain’s current obsession with true-crime television show, Fact or Fable, the killer uses social media to frighten the public.

Joined by her partner Greg Carver, who is gradually recovering after an encounter with a brutal criminal, Ruth will stop at nothing to catch the sadistic killer turning his victims into grisly works of art.

Author: Ashley Dyer
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-0062797728
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks