Browse Authors:

Ashley Elston books in order

Ashley Elston is an American author of young adult novels.

Her books have been translated into twenty-three different languages, selling numerous copies around the world.

Ashley attended Louisiana State University where she obtained a Liberal Arts degree.

She worked as a wedding photographer for a number of years before becoming a writer.

Represented by Sarah Davies at The Greenhouse Literary Agency, Ashley currently lives in Louisiana with her husband and their three sons.

More about Ashley Elston

Genre: Young Adult

United States


Non Series

  • This Is Our Story (2016)
  • The Lying Woods (2018)
  • 10 Blind Dates (2019)
  • 10 Truths and a Dare (2021)

The Rules Books

  1. The Rules for Disappearing (2013)
  2. The Rules for Breaking (2014)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

This Is Our Story

Five boys went hunting on that fateful morning, but only four of them came back alive.

Even worse is that none of the boys is willing to confess who fired the fatal shot.

Going by the evidence collected, any of them could be responsible.

Although the toxicology reports make a shocking revelation, the DA wants the case to be done away with, as a way of paying a debt to their boys’ powerful families.

Enter Kate Marino, a senior year intern determined to get to the bottom o0f the case.

But as she will soon find out, nothing about the case is what it seems.

Author: Ashley Elston
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1484734124
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
The Lying Woods

Raised with a silver spoon, Owen Foster is shocked when he learns that his wealthy upbringing was due to his father’s embezzlement.

Worse off is that his father leaves him and his mother to pay for his sins.

Forced to leave his prestigious New Orleans boarding school, Owen returns to Lake Cane to complete his senior year.

Despised by locals for a crime that he never committed, the key to solving the Louisiana Frac mystery lies in a secret note sent to him by his father.

But is Owen however ready to confront some devastating truths about his past?

Author: Ashley Elston
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1368015912
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
10 Blind Dates

With her parents spending Christmas in South Louisiana with her expectant older sister, Sophie is looking forward to enjoying some quality time with her long-term boyfriend, Griffin—until he informs her that he needs a break.

Shattered, she moves to her grandparents' home where her lively extended family is.

While there, her nonna comes up with the idea of going on ten different blind dates over the next ten days.

So when Griffin shows up begging for another chance, Sophie is left confused.

Could she have already fallen for someone else; perhaps someone already taken?

This set to be one life-changing Christmas. But will it be memorable or forgettable?

Author: Ashley Elston
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-1368045254
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
10 Truths and a Dare

It's Senior Week, right before graduation.

Positive about joining LSU, Olivia simply can’t wait to begin the next chapter of her life.

Her optimism however comes crashing down following a small inconvenience in the form of an unsigned off-campus P.E. form.

Forced to volunteer at a local golf tournament, Olivia’s dream is still on course.

The only problem is that her mom installed a tracking app on her phone.

Her mom, and her prying extended family, can never find out about her mistake.

With just a week to go, will Olivia make it to the graduation list?

Author: Ashley Elston
First Release: 2021
ISBN: 978-1368062381
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

The Rules Books

The Rules for Disappearing

Placed under Witness Protection, she has had six different identities in six different places.

Now moved to the Louisiana countryside, she is issued the name Megan Rose Jones, and a dreadful hair dye.

She is however determined to make this her last fake life.

What did her father do, or witness, that got her in such a terrible mess?

Determined to uncover the truth, Meg embarks on a truth-seeking quest.

Meg however cannot place any of her hopes on local farm boy Ethan Landry, who is quite suspicious of her.

Could his clever and nosy nature get them killed?

Or will Meg finally unshackle her family?

Author: Ashley Elston
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-1423169260
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
The Rules for Breaking

Anna Boyd nearly died while looking for her freedom.

Placed under Witness Protection, she leads a miserable life.

Thomas, the dangerous man using her as a pawn, has managed to evade the authorities.

So when Thomas and another mysterious man capture her, her vulnerable younger sister and her boyfriend, Anna knows that she has to do something before it’s too late.

Hunted by a drug cartel and determined to protect her loved ones, Anna will stop at nothing to win back her freedom, as well as that of her loved ones.

But in a world full of danger, survival is the only important thing.

Author: Ashley Elston
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-1423169277
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion