Browse Authors:

Matthew Farrell books in order

Matthew Farrell is an American author of suspense, mystery and thriller books.

He is best known for writing the Washington Post and Amazon Charts bestseller, What Have You Done (2018), which forms part of the Adler and Dwyer thriller series.

Matthew Farrell currently resides just outside of New York City, in the Hudson Valley, with his beloved wife and two lovely daughters.

Readers who wish to be updated on his next thriller should connect with Matthew Farrell through his Facebook and Twitter pages.

More about Matthew Farrell

Genres: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller

United States


Non Series

  • Winter Hill (2005)

Adler and Dwyer

  1. What Have You Done: Part of Adler and Dwyer (2018)
  2. I Know Everything: Part of Adler and Dwyer (2019)
  3. Don't Ever Forget (2020)
  4. Tell Me the Truth (2021)
Non Series

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Winter Hill

Martin Weiss just got the promotion of a lifetime. He’s become the newest executive vice president for a major financial corporation. Moving from bustling New York City to a quiet home near Woodstock, Vermont, he and his wife Nicole hope to start over and escape the crushing memories of their young daughter’s accidental death.

At first, the Weiss’s new life in Vermont appears idyllic, but trouble lurks beneath the tranquil surface. Their new neighbor, Dr. Alan Fisher, isn’t what he seems. An emergency room physician by day, Dr. Fisher appears dedicated to helping the sick and wounded.

But the shocking fact is that he’s more interested in ending lives than saving them—and he’s far too sophisticated to do it merely for the thrill. Dr. Fisher has a much grander vision in mind, and Nicole may very well become part of his diabolical plan.

Author: Matthew Farrell
First Release: 2005
ISBN: 978-0595348657
Publisher: iUniverse

Adler and Dwyer

What Have You Done: Part of Adler and Dwyer

When a mutilated body is found hanging in a seedy motel in Philadelphia, forensics specialist Liam Dwyer assumes the crime scene will be business as usual. Instead, the victim turns out to be a woman he’d had an affair with before breaking it off to save his marriage. But there’s a bigger problem: Liam has no memory of where he was or what he did on the night of the murder.

Panicked, Liam turns to his brother, Sean, a homicide detective. Sean has his back, but incriminating evidence keeps piling up. From fingerprints to DNA, everything points to Liam, who must race against time and his department to uncover the truth―even if that truth is his own guilt. Yet as he digs deeper, dark secrets come to light, and Liam begins to suspect the killer might actually be Sean…

When the smoke clears in this harrowing family drama, who will be left standing?

Author: Matthew Farrell
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1503900646
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
I Know Everything: Part of Adler and Dwyer

A psychiatrist grapples with his own sanity as murder evidence mounts against him.

Police investigator Susan Adler is ready to close the book on a deadly car accident, but after the medical examiner discovers evidence of foul play, she knows she has a murder on her hands. The victim was the wealthy wife of Randall Brock, a renowned psychiatrist who treats patients with disturbing, brutal fantasies. And just like that, Susan’s got a suspect.

Randall has a violent past but knows he didn’t kill his wife. In the midst of his crushing grief, Randall receives a visit from a stranger with information to share about his wife’s death. But there’s a catch: in exchange for the stranger’s information, Randall must reveal dark secrets he’s kept hidden for years. As this shady figure applies more pressure and Susan closes in, Randall begins to doubt himself, clinging desperately to the pieces of his sanity.

Revelations and suspicious coincidences send shock waves through the investigation, and circumstances spin out of control. Susan must race to put it all together before it’s too late―before the next murder strikes too close to home.

Author: Matthew Farrell
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-1542044967
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Don't Ever Forget

When police investigator Susan Adler is called to the roadside murder of a fellow state trooper, she’s tasked with finding the people responsible for the cold-blooded act caught on the trooper’s dashboard cam. She traces the car to a nurse who, along with her elderly patient, has been missing for days. At the old man’s house, she finds disturbing evidence that instantly revives two cold cases involving long-missing children.

The investigation takes a chilling turn when people involved with both the nurse and old man begin to turn up dead, and Susan enlists the help of her friend and forensic investigator Liam Dwyer. Together they must untangle the threads of this ever-more-complicated case—and stay ahead of whoever’s trying to slash their progress. The old man’s failing memory adds urgency: wherever he is, he’s no doubt lost, confused, and in extreme danger.

What started as a traffic stop gone wrong quickly unfolds into one of the darkest cases of Susan’s career, and it all leads to a sick, desperate killer. Susan and Liam must work fast to save the old man’s life and keep future victims from the killer’s grasp.

Author: Matthew Farrell
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-1542019767
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Tell Me the Truth

Eighteen-year-old Jenny Moore is looking forward to a fresh start at college. There’s just one problem: the people in her life won’t let her go.

When Jenny is viciously stabbed and left for dead, it’s her mother who finds Jenny’s body underneath the pines outside their home in the upscale town of Lewisboro, New York. State police investigator Susan Adler and her consultant partner Liam Dwyer are called to investigate the crime scene, but they sense something’s off right away.

The clues contradict the story Jenny’s parents keep telling, which makes the entire family suspects in Jenny’s murder. But who did it? Was it the wealthy father? The disappointed mother? The strange, quiet little brother? The jealous best friend? An ex-lover?

So many suspects. Too many secrets. One town with a history of hiding the truth.

But this is only the beginning of Susan and Liam’s investigation…because the killer is just getting started.

Author: Matthew Farrell
First Release: 2021
ISBN: 978-1542022613
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer