Browse Authors:

A. D. Garrett books in order

A. D. Garrett is the pseudonym of British internationally acclaimed bestselling author of psychological thrillers, Margaret Murphy, working in consultation with forensic scientist Professor Dave Barclay.

Born in the maritime city of Liverpool, Margaret chose to author her forensic thriller novels under the pseudonym A. D. Garrett and Ashley Dyer.

She is a former Chair of the UK Crime Writers Association (CWA), founder of Murder Squad, and a former RLF Writing Fellow and Reading Round Lector.

Margaret has throughout her career served as a country park ranger, biology teacher, dyslexia specialist and Visiting Professor in creative writing.

More about A. D. Garrett

Genres: Crime Suspense, Mystery, Thriller

Born: 1959

United Kingdom


DCI Simms & Professor Fennimore

  1. Everyone Lies (2013)
  2. Believe No One (2014)
  3. The Truth Will Out (2016)

Detailed book overview

DCI Simms & Professor Fennimore

Everyone Lies

DCI Kate Simms is struggling to find her way back to the top following her demotion after helping her colleague five years ago.

Professor Nick Fennimore, a former scientific advisor to the National Crime Faculty, now spends his time working as a forensics lecturer in Scotland following the mysterious disappearance of his wife and daughter.

Meanwhile, drug addicts are turning up dead in Manchester.

When a celebrity dead creates media mayhem, and the lifeless body of another overdose victim is discovered, the evidence simply doesn't add up.

Simms has her work cut out with the investigation, and the only one who can help her is the one person whom she should avoid.

Author: A. D. Garrett
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-0753191859
Publisher: ISIS Large Print Books
Believe No One

“Kate Simms and Nick Fennimore head to the US Midwest.”

Forensics expert Nick Fennimore heads to Oklahoma after receiving a call from the sheriff's deputy regarding the case of a dead mother and her missing child.

While on assignment with St Louis PD, DCI Kate Simms discovers a pattern in the cold cases.

As the two investigations merge, Red—a nine-year-old boy adventuring in Oklahoma's backwoods—has idea that he and his mom have drawn the attention of a vicious killer.

This triggers a rapid race to not only catch a brutal serial killer, but also save the life of an innocent boy.

Author: A. D. Garrett
First Release: 2014
Ebook: B00S52ASDO
Publisher: Minotaur Books
The Truth Will Out

When a mother and daughter are abducted while driving home from a cinema, Professor Nick Fennimore realizes that the crime has eerie resemblance to a cold that case he had been lecturing on.

And things get more intriguing when he starts receiving ominous messages.

Meanwhile, a photograph emailed from Paris draws Fennimore one step closer to solving the mysterious disappearance of his daughter Suzie, who has now been missing for six years.

Enlisting the help of DCI Kate Simms who has just returned from the US, not even the police bureaucracy will prevent the duo from identify the kidnapper.

Author: A. D. Garrett
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1472150998
Publisher: Corsair