Browse Authors:

John Gwynne books in order

John Gwynne is a British author of the award-winning fantasy series, The Faithful and the Fallen.

Although his parents are from Wales, Gwynne was born in Singapore because his dad was stationed there in the RAF.

He has over his career worked at a soap factory, a French restaurant in Canada, a rock n roll band, and as a lecturer at Brighton University where he studied.

A passionate Viking-re-enactor, Gwynne began writing in his early thirties after being encouraged by his my wife and children.

He currently lives in Eastbourne, East Sussex with his wife, four amazing children and three dogs.

More about John Gwynne

Genre: Fantasy / SF

Born: 1968

United Kingdom


Of Blood and Bone Series

  1. A Time of Dread (2018)
  2. A Time of Blood (2019)
  3. A Time of Courage (2020)

Order of Tales Of The Apt Collections

  1. The Scent of Tears (2018)

The Faithful and the Fallen Series

  1. Malice (2012)
  2. Valor (2014)
  3. Ruin (2015)
  4. Wrath (2016)
Order of Tales Of The Apt Collections
The Faithful and the Fallen Series

Detailed book overview

Of Blood and Bone Series

A Time of Dread

The Ben-Elim, a race of warrior angels, now controls the Banished Lands, having defeated the once powerful demon horde. However, their ancient foes may not be as defeated as they thought.

Elsewhere in the snowy north, trapper Drem discovers lifeless bodies in the forests—a sign of demonic black magic.

In the south, young soldier Riv notices a terrible flaw within the Ben-Elim themselves.

Could Drem and Riv help determine the fate of the Banished Lands?

Author: John Gwynne
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-0316502245
Publisher: Orbit
A Time of Blood

Drem and his friends had a firsthand account of dreadful things at the battle of Starstone Lake.

Having witnessed magic turning men into beasts and a demon arise from the dead, the memories of what they saw continually haunts them.

Although they escape to warn the Order of the Bright Star, Fritha—the demons’ high priestess—quickly chases after them.

Elsewhere in the Forn Forest, Riv struggles come to terms with her half-breed lineage.

Demonic forces are assembling their finest war-host in a bid to destroy their enemies and reign over the human world.

Will Riv, Drem and the Bright Star’s warriors manage to save their land?

Author: John Gwynne
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-0316502276
Publisher: Orbit
A Time of Courage

Having finally broken out of his iron prison, demon king Asroth and his dark bride, Fritha, launch a mission to conquer the whole of the Banished Lands.

As Asroth's great army seeks conquest, somewhere in the Forn Forest, Riv and the remaining Ben-Elim crucially seek for a way to unite those against Asroth's reign.

Elsewhere in the west, Drem is with the Order of the Bright Star, surrounded by a demon army.

Although they fear that they are on the verge of being destroyed, they are convinced that it is better to die fighting than live without hope.

Author: John Gwynne
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-0316502313
Publisher: Orbit

Order of Tales Of The Apt Collections

The Scent of Tears

Adrian Tchaikovsky has brought together an exciting cast of some of the best writers to reveal more about the realm of the Apt in their own unique ways.

Complete with two new stories form Adrian, this collection explores a whole new view of the Apt world and its people.

Contributions include:
The Message - John Gwynne
Old Blood - Adrian Tchaikovsky
The Scent of Tears - Keris McDonald
Wonder - Frances Hardinge
The Promise of a Threat - David Tallerman
The Unforeseen Path - Juliet E. McKenna
The Mantis Way - Peter Newman
Poor Little Earwig Girl - Tom Lloyd
Forwards, Up, Back, Down - Joff Leader
Recipes for Good Living - Justina Robson
God of Profound Things - Adrian Tchaikovsky

Author: John Gwynne
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1910935941
Publisher: Newcon Press

The Faithful and the Fallen Series


Corban yearns for the day that he’ll become a warrior under King Brenin's rule. And when that day comes, he’ll have to pay with blood.

Evnis has forgone too much in a bid to gain the power to rule. Once it becomes his, nothing will stop him.

Veradis is the not only the recruit of the warband for the High Prince, Nathair, he is also one of the most gifted swordsman in his homeland. Nonetheless, he will always be overshadowed by his older brother.

The world is in chaos and may never be whole again. The war to end all wars is however about to begin.

Author: John Gwynne
First Release: 2012
ISBN: 978-0316399739
Publisher: Orbit

Corban runs away from his homeland in a desperate search for peace, only to learn that the west is everything but a safe haven, as the agents of Rhin and wandering bands of giants pursue his every step.

Veradis abandons the battleground and hastily returns to be by his King's side. The war and treachery that he has witnessed however troubles and distracts him from performing his role.

Maquin is on a desperate quest for vengeance. Pirate slavers and the merciless world of pit-fighting however prevents him from doing so.

Nathair gets caught up in the battles of the west as Queen Rhin marches against King Owain.

The quest for power has only just intensified.

Author: John Gwynne
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-0316399746
Publisher: Orbit

The devious Queen Rhin has overrun the west while High King Nathair now possesses the cauldron—the most powerful of the seven treasures. Behind him are the crafty Calidus and a warband of the Kadoshim. Their plan is to bring Asroth and his horde of the Fallen into the world of flesh, with the help of the seven treasures.

Nathair has finally uncovered the truth after being betrayed. His next step will determine the fate of the Banished Lands.

Edana makes allies in the swamps of Ardan.

Having lost everything, Corban is on a desperate mission to fight evil.

The battle between good and evil has only just began.

Author: John Gwynne
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-0316386326
Publisher: Orbit

King Nathair now controls the fortress at Drassil, on top of possessing three of the seven treasures.

With the help of Calidus and his ally Queen Rhin, Nathair will do everything in their might to obtain the remaining treasures.

Corban has been imprisoned by the Jotun. With his warband scattered, Corban’s only hope of surviving is to make new allies. Can he however strike a deal with opposing sides of warlike giants?

Events in the Banished Lands are about to hit new heights.

Author: John Gwynne
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-0316386340
Publisher: Orbit