Browse Authors:

Amy Hatvany books in order

Amy Hatvany is an American author of literary fiction novels.

Jobless after graduating from college with a Sociology degree, she went to do a number of jobs such as decorating wedding cakes and being a receptionist.

However, in 1998, Amy decided to sell her car, resign from her job and dive head first into writing—something that she has never lived to regret.

Having studied sociology is what inspires Amy to talk about controversial matters such as mental illness, domestic abuse, and alcoholism in her books.

Whenever she isn’t with her friends or family, Amy can be found reading, cooking, or watching particular reality tv shows.

More about Amy Hatvany

Genre: Literary Fiction

Born: 1972

United States


Non Series

  • Best Kept Secret (2011)
  • Outside the Lines (2012)
  • The Language of Sisters (2012)
  • Heart Like Mine (2013)
  • Safe with Me (2014)
  • Somewhere Out There (2016)
  • It Happens All the Time (2017)
  • Tell Me Everything (2019)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Best Kept Secret

Cadence didn’t sit down one night and decide that downing two bottles of wine was a brilliant idea.

A beautiful son, a thriving job as a freelance journalist and a great marriage, Cadence once had the perfect life—until every came crumbling down.

Now devastated after a bitter divorce, she overcomes her stressful struggle to provide for her young son by drowning herself in wine.

But when her drinking gets out of control, she finds herself gradually ignoring her motherly responsibilities.

And when her ex-husband comes to take Charlie away from her, Cadence realizes that her best kept secret has finally been uncovered.

Will she rebuild her life?

Author: Amy Hatvany
First Release: 2011
ISBN: 978-1439193310
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Outside the Lines

Eden’s parents separated when she was just ten years old following a botched suicide attempt by her father, David.

Decades later, Eden now runs a prosperous catering company, and harbors dreams of owning a restaurant. She however greatly misses her father.

After a number of unsuccessful romantic relationships and a health scare from her mother, Eden finally decides to look for her father, who has been mentally handicapped for years.

Her journey leads her to a homeless shelter in Seattle where Eden meets Jack Baker, the facility’s delightful and good-looking director.

This is a moving book about one woman who ends up finding herself while looking for her father.

Author: Amy Hatvany
First Release: 2012
ISBN: 978-1451640540
Publisher: Washington Square Press
The Language of Sisters

Nicole Hunter left her stressful home a decade ago in an effort to run away from the responsibility of looking after her disabled sister, Jenny.

Although faced with huge challenges romantically and career wise, Nicole convinces herself that everything is okay.

When a tragedy however turns her world on its head, Nicole returns to her hometown to look after her pregnant sister and mend her relationship with her mother.

Forced to face ghosts of her past that continually trouble her, will Nicole finally be the sister that she has always wanted to be?

And when faced with a tough choice, will she choose true happiness?

Author: Amy Hatvany
First Release: 2012
ISBN: 978-1451688139
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Heart Like Mine

Grace McAllister has never imagined herself having kids.

However, when she crosses paths with the gorgeous, charming and stable divorced father of Max and Ava, the thirty-something year old decides that she can be the perfect part-time stepmom for the perfect man.

How hard can it be, given that the children live with their mother, Kelli?

Thirteen-year-old Ava Hansen takes care of her emotionally volatile mom and her younger brother.

But when her mom passes away a matter of days after her father and his girlfriend get engaged, Grace and Ava will uncover shocking details about Kelli’s life.

Author: Amy Hatvany
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-1451640564
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Safe with Me

Hannah Scott’s perfect life imploded after a tragic accident.

A year after agreeing to donate her daughter’s organs, a grieving Hannah crosses paths with the Bell family.

Teenager Maddie Bell survived on the night that Hannah’s daughter died.

Scared to reveal her true identity, Hannah develops a close relationship with Maddie’s mother, Olivia.

At one point close to separating from her rich and abusive husband, Olivia is now stuck with a vile man following the organ transplant that spared the life of her daughter.

This is a moving book about two mothers and one daughter connected by a disaster and bound by secrets.

Author: Amy Hatvany
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-1476704418
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Somewhere Out There

Natalie Clark has never asked her fragile adoptive mother about her past. So when Natalie’s own daughter asks questions about their family tree for a school assignment, Natalie launches a quest to find the truth about her past.

Raised in a state facility and multiple foster homes, Brooke Walker has always counted on herself from a very early age.

So when she finds out that she is having a baby, Brooke must decide whether to give up the baby or raise the child on her own.

This is a book about two sisters who reunite nearly four decades later to find their real mother.

Author: Amy Hatvany
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1476704432
Publisher: Washington Square Press
It Happens All the Time

Teenage best friends Amber Bryant and Tyler Hicks have been there for each other during the worst periods of their lives.

Although Amber has always seen Tyler as nothing more than a close friend, Tyler has always had a secret crush on her.

Back home after her college graduation, Amber reconnects with Tyler for the first time in years.

Though engaged to her college love, Amber is quietly drawn to Tyler.

Their powerful chemistry however culminates in one passionate night triggered by alcohol and doubts about getting married too early.

Will things ever be the same again between Amber and Tyler the next morning?

Author: Amy Hatvany
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-1501153907
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Tell Me Everything

Blissfully married with two teenagers and great careers, Jessica and Jake Snyder have the perfect lives.

Their crammed schedule is however taking a toll on their marriage.

So when a stranger requests Jessica to dance with him, Jake surprisingly obliges, arguing that seeing another man touch his wife turns him on.

Thus marks the beginning of an entirely new world of exploration for the couple.

As they come up with a set of rules to safeguard their union, their relationship grows stronger due to the openness and lack of secrecy.

Everything however changes when Jessica sparks a romantic relationship with a man from her past, without telling Jake.

Author: Amy Hatvany
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-0578561905
Publisher: Amy Hatvany