Browse Authors:

Jessica Khoury books in order

Jessica Khoury is an American author of fantasy and young adult novels.

Ever since she began writing at the tender age of four, one that involved scribbling a fan fic sequel to Syd Hoff's Danny and the Dinosaur on a notebook before stapling it together, Jessica hasn’t looked back since.

Now whenever she isn’t writing, Jess can be found playing video games, spending time with her family and creating oil and watercolor painting.

She currently lives in Greenville, South Carolina.

More about Jessica Khoury

Genres: Children's Book, Fantasy / SF, Young Adult

Born: 1990

United States


Non Series

  • The Forbidden Wish (2016)
  • Last of Her Name (2019)
  • The Mystwick School of Musicraft (2020)

Corpus Series

  1. Origin (2012)
  2. Vitro (2014)
  3. Kalahari (2015)

Rise Of The Dragons

  1. The Lost Lands (2020)
Rise Of The Dragons

Detailed book overview

Non Series

The Forbidden Wish

Zahra finds herself back into a world that she hasn't seen in centuries after Aladdin comes across her jinni lamp.

But given that magic is prohibited and Zahra's mere presence is outlawed, the only way for her to stay alive is to masquerade until her new master has makes his three wishes.

When the King of the Jinn however presents Zahra with an opportunity to be free of her lamp forever, she takes the chance without thinking twice—only to find out that Aladdin is stealing her heart.

When saving oneself however amounts to treachery, Zahra must decide whether getting her freedom is worth shattering her heart.

Author: Jessica Khoury
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1595147684
Publisher: Razorbill
Last of Her Name

Violence rocked the Belt of Jewels galaxy sixteen years ago in an act of rebellion that saw the killing of the entire Leonov royal family—not even sparing the youngest Princess Anya. And with that, Union government seized power.

Stacia spends her days playing with her friends, Clio and Pol, on her father's vineyard.

Everything however changes when a Union ship suddenly appears through the sky.

Even more shocking is that the Direktor Eminent, the leader of the Union, claims that Stacia's tiny village is flocked with empire loyalists; further claiming that Stacia is indeed Princess Anya Leonova.

As the place plunges into chaos, Pol helps Stacia escape while Clio is captured by the Union.

Stacia will however do everything it takes to rescue Clio.

Author: Jessica Khoury
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-1338582123
Publisher: Scholastic Press
The Mystwick School of Musicraft

The one thing that Amelia Jones wishes she would do is attend the Mystwick School of Musicraft, a place where some of the most promising musicians in the world learn to create magic.

When her audition however goes terribly wrong, Amelia fears that her dream has come to a devastating end, until the school surprisingly hands her a trial period.

Her desperation to prove herself however makes her pretend to be someone she’s not.

With a mysterious storm brewing, one that not even the maestros at Mystwick can handle, will Amelia find the strength to be her real self and rescue her precious school from destruction?

Author: Jessica Khoury
First Release: 2020
Ebook: B07PPDL6S8
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Corpus Series


Pia’s fate has always been sealed. Genetically modified for immortality and brought up by a team of scientists in a hidden compound at the heart of the Amazon rainforest, her destiny is to start a new race which will bring an end to death.

Her wish has always been to fulfill their expectations, until the day she discovers a hole in the impassable fence surrounding her home.

Free in the jungle for the first time, Pia crosses paths with Eio, a boy from a neighboring village. Charmed by him, she continuously sneaks out to meet him and the two fall in love.

Their lives are however changed forever when they attempt to solve the mystery behind Pia’s origin.

Author: Jessica Khoury
First Release: 2012
ISBN: 978-1595145963
Publisher: Razorbill

Corpus scientists have given life to test tube embryos somewhere on a faraway island in the Pacific.

The Vitros, as the beings are known, possess knowledge and abilities beyond human comprehension.

The only problem is that they have one huge defect.

Determined to get to Skin Island and find her scientist mother who abandoned her years ago, Sophie Crue seeks the help of attractive charter pilot Jim Julien to take her there.

But upon arriving on the island, the two discover more than they had anticipated.

As they take part in the biggest race of their lives, Sophie and Jim will witness exactly what happens when science goes too far.

Author: Jessica Khoury
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-1595146069
Publisher: Razorbill

Five teenagers find themselves trapped in the Kalahari Desert without a guide after an educational safari goes terribly wrong.

Determined to lead everyone to safety, Sarah—the daughter of zoologists—takes charge of the group.

But as their chances of survival grow increasingly slimmer, things get worse when the group is ambushed by a lion so silver, as though made of mercury.

Having barely escaped the attack, the group makes a shocking discovery that explains the lion’s silver luster.

A lethal and contagious virus has been released, one that threatens to destroy life completely.

Author: Jessica Khoury
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-1595147660
Publisher: Razorbill

Rise Of The Dragons

The Lost Lands

Sirin, Allie, and Joss have united with the legendary silver dragon Lysander, the only creature that has what it takes to open portals between the two worlds.

The powerful Lennix clan has however been monitoring their every move, determined to capture Lysander.

After several generations of scheming, the Lennixes—with the help of the Raptors—are closer than ever to setting up a vicious dragon regime on Earth, much like they did centuries ago.

Allie, Joss and Sirin’s now have to protect Lysander whilst also hunting for a secret source of lost dragon magic—the only force capable of defeating the Raptor.

NB: This book is the second installment of the Rise of the Dragons Series. The first book, Rise of the Dragons (2019), is by Angie Sage.

Author: Jessica Khoury
First Release: 2020
Publisher: Scholastic Press