Browse Authors:

Laura Mchugh books in order

Laura McHugh is the internationally bestselling author of The Weight of Blood (2014), winner of an International Thriller Writers Award and a Silver Falchion Award for best first novel, and Arrowood (2016), an International Thriller Writers Award finalist for best novel.

A lifelong Midwesterner, McHugh currently resides in Missouri with her husband and children.

More about Laura Mchugh

Genres: Fantasy / SF, Mystery, Suspense

Born: 1974

United States


Non Series

  • The Weight of Blood (2014)
  • Arrowood (2016)
  • The Wolf Wants In (2019)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

The Weight of Blood

Locals of Henbane town, sitting deep in the Ozark Mountains, still mutter about Lucy Dane’s mother, an enchanting stranger who appeared and got married to Carl Dane before mysteriously disappearing when Lucy was just a child.

Now about to become an adult, Lucy suffers yet another loss when her friend Cheri vanishes, only for her dead body to be discovered, dumped openly for all to see.

Tormented by the loss of her mother and most recently Cheri, Lucy embarks on a mission to unearth the truth behind her friend’s death.

And to do that, she will need the help of a local boy named Daniel.

Author: Laura Mchugh
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-0812985337
Publisher: Spiegel & Grau

Despite being the grandest of the historical houses found along the Mississippi River in southern Iowa, Arrowood is a place shrouded in deep mystery.

Two decades ago, Arden Arrowood’s younger twin sisters disappeared there under her supervision, never to be seen again.

Her parents separated afterwards, abandoning the family home that had been passed on for generations.

With a broken heart and an academic life in jeopardy, things get worse for Arden after her father dies—leaving Arrowood to her.

Upon returning to her childhood home, Arden is determined to uncover the truth behind the disappearance of her twin sisters once and for all.

Author: Laura Mchugh
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-0812986419
Publisher: Spiegel & Grau
The Wolf Wants In

Despite the fact that premature deaths aren’t new to the tiny rural town of Blackwater, Kansas where crime and overdoses are the norm, Sadie Keller is still determined to unearth the truth behind her brother’s death--even if nobody else thinks it’s worth investigating.

Eighteen-year-old Henley Pettit knows a lot more about the dark side of Blackwater than she would like to. Coming from a family with a history of crime, Henley would love nothing more than to run away. Shedding the past is however easier said than done.

This is the tale of two women torn between family loyalties and the weight of the secrets they carry.

Author: Laura Mchugh
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-0399590290
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks