Browse Authors:

Jonathan Moore books in order

Jonathan Moore is an American attorney and author.

Prior to graduating from law school in New Orleans, Jonathan lived in Taiwan for three years, worked as an English teacher and as an investigator for a criminal defense attorney in Washington, D.C.

Jonathan has also been a bar owner, a counselor at a wilderness camp for delinquent teens, and a textbook writer.

His books, Redheads (2013) and Close Reach (2014) were short-listed for the Bram Stoker Award.

Jonathan lives in Hawaii with his wife and two children.

More about Jonathan Moore

Genres: Suspense, Thriller

Born: 1977

United States


Non Series

  • Redheads (2013)
  • Close Reach (2014)
  • The Poison Artist (2016)
  • The Dark Room (2017)
  • The Night Market (2018)
  • Electric Noir: Three Thrillers by Jonathan Moore (2019)
  • Blood Relations (2019)

Detailed book overview

Non Series


After years of searching, Chris Wilcox has now uncovered a number of things about the person who killed his wife.

Cheryl Wilcox wasn’t the murder’s first victim. All the victims were redheads, and they were all eaten alive and dumped within a mile of the ocean.

The killer also left a trail of death across the globe over a number of decades.

When Chris and two other survivors find a trace of the killer's DNA, they hire the services of an advanced laboratory which leads to a shocking discovery.

The killer is far more deranged than they had thought. And now, the hunter has become the hunted.

Author: Jonathan Moore
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-1619215702
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Close Reach

As Kelly Pratihari-Reid and her husband sail into Antarctic waters with their yacht, they think that their biggest concern will be ice and storms, and their marriage which is on the rocks.

That’s until they hear the sound of a British girl squealing across a short-range VHF frequency.

“It’s coming. It saw us and it’s coming back!”

Those were her words.

Even though the girl’s voice isn’t clear due to a tide of signal-jamming static, Kelly is able to identify a target on the radar screen. A ship is headed their way.

In the ship is a crew of pirates under the command of a young sadistic leader on a shocking mission.

Author: Jonathan Moore
First Release: 2014
Ebook: B00GQAMBV4
Publisher: Hydra
The Poison Artist

San Francisco toxicologist Dr. Caleb Maddox is drowning himself in whiskey at the speakeasy House of Shields after a nasty breakup with his girlfriend.

It’s there that a stunning and alluring woman named Emmeline appears by his side, whispering to him and brushing her lips against his ear before disappearing. Caleb knows he must find her.

In his quest to find the seductive woman, Caleb becomes entwined in a serial murder investigation. A man mysteriously disappeared from House of Shields the night the toxicologist met Emmeline, with the police not having any leads.

As he helps an old friend come to terms with the chemical evidence on bodies of the victims, Caleb’s hunt for the killer soon interlaces with his search for Emmeline.

And the closer he gets, the more dangerous things become.

Author: Jonathan Moore
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-0544811829
Publisher: Mariner Books
The Dark Room

SFPD homicide inspector Gavin Cain receives an urgent phone call while in the process of exhuming a body.

The mayor of San Francisco is being blackmailed and gravely needs his help. A helicopter is on its way.

Upon arriving at City Hall, Cain is showed four photographs sent to the mayor; photographs of a beautiful blonde, pills and handcuffs, the woman drinking from a flask and a final image of the same woman naked, unconscious, and chained to a bed.

Alongside the letter is a stern warning. Worse evidence will be released if the mayor doesn’t take his own life.

Author: Jonathan Moore
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-1328745569
Publisher: Mariner Books
The Night Market

As Inspector Ross Carver studies a crime scene one evening in one of the most affluent homes in the city, six FBI agents storm into the premises before throwing him into a disinfectant trailer where he is forced to drink a liquid makes him lose consciousness.

A couple of days later, Carver is woken up by the sound his neighbor reading aloud to him.

How did he get to his bed and why is Mia—a neighbor he has barely ever spoken to—even there?

As he endeavors to uncover what happened to him, Carver soon learns that he is entwined in a web of conspiracy that spans the nation.

And Mia knows a lot more than she is revealing.

Author: Jonathan Moore
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1328507969
Publisher: Mariner Books
Electric Noir: Three Thrillers by Jonathan Moore

The Poison Artist: While drowning himself in whiskey at the House of Shields after a nasty breakup with his girlfriend, San Francisco toxicologist Dr. Caleb Maddox meets a seductive woman named Emmeline. What he doesn’t know is that his search for a killer will be interlaced with his hunt for Emmeline.

The Dark Room: SFPD homicide inspector Gavin Cain leaves a cold case to help his mayor who is being blackmailed into committing suicide.

The Night Market: As Inspector Ross Carver struggles to uncover the shocking details behind how he mysteriously ended up in his bed, he shockingly discovers that he is at the heart of a web of conspiracy that spans the nation.

Author: Jonathan Moore
First Release: 2019
Ebook: B07QW5KQZ6
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Blood Relations

Who is Claire Gravesend?

When the body of Claire Gravesend is discovered on top of a Rolls Royce in San Francisco’s most dangerous neighborhood, Olivia—the victim’s mother—hires private investigator Lee Crowe to solve the case, convinced that her daughter didn’t take her life away.

From Claire’s Boston townhouse to her small flat in San Francisco, Crowe is determined to get to the bottom of things.

The PI is however thrown a curveball when he finds Claire, in flesh and blood, at an upstairs bedroom in her pied-à-terre.

That leads Crowe back to his first question. Who is Claire Gravesend?

And most importantly, how is she still alive?

Author: Jonathan Moore
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-1328987815
Publisher: Mariner Books