Browse Authors:

Kate Moretti books in order

Kate Moretti is an American New York Times bestselling author of mystery, suspense, thriller and contemporary romance novels.

Passionate about fiction for a good part of her life, Kate worked as a scientist in the pharmaceutical sector.

She currently lives in Pennsylvania with her beloved husband, two lovely kids, and a dog.

She loves cooking, traveling and writing.

More about Kate Moretti

Genres: Contemporary , Crime Suspense, Mystery, Roman, Thriller

United States


Non Series

  • Thought I Knew You (2012)
  • Binds That Tie (2014)
  • The Vanishing Year (2016)
  • The Blackbird Season (2017)
  • In Her Bones (2018)
  • Girls of Brackenhill (2020)
  • The Spires (2021)


  1. While You Were Gone (I Thought I Knew You Novella) (2015)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Thought I Knew You

Claire Barnes is left inconsolable after her husband, Greg, mysteriously vanishes while on a business trip.

Not patient enough to wait for the police, Claire launches her own investigation.

By her side is Drew, her best friend, who won’t rest until Claire uncovers the truth about what really happened to her husband.

However, their investigation only yields unsettling questions.

And the more they dig into the disappearance, the more Claire learns that she may have married a complete stranger.

Struggling to take care of her kids and fend off her intensifying attraction towards Drew, Claire must learn to accept that she may never know what truly happened to her husband.

Author: Kate Moretti
First Release: 2012
ISBN: 978-1940215297
Publisher: Red Adept Publishing
Binds That Tie

Maggie always felt alienated until Chris Stevens stormed into her life and showed her what it really means to be in love.

However, one decade into their marriage, stillbirths and cheating scandals have marred their lives.

Although they seem like the dream couple, Maggie feels nothing but rage whenever she looks at Chris.

So when an enchanting strange flirts with her, Maggie gladly plays along.

The charisma however doesn’t last for long, as a terrible decision soon plunges Maggie and Chris into dark a pit rife with secrets, lies, and guilt.

With nobody else to turn to, Maggie will learn just how unbreakable matrimonial ties can be.

Author: Kate Moretti
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-1940215266
Publisher: Red Adept Publishing
The Vanishing Year

Zoe Whittaker has the perfect life.

The young and stunning wife to the gorgeous and wealthy Wall Street mogul Henry Whittaker, Zoe is part of the crème de la crème of Manhattan.

She is not only part of the most respected philanthropic outfit in the city, but also owns a lavish city penthouse and a marvelous rural home by the lake.

Zoe is a living embodiment of what it truly means to lead a life of luxury.

However, underneath all the fancy things that money can buy is a dark secret.

Five years ago, Zoe was in terrible danger.

And now, her past has come back to haunt her.

Author: Kate Moretti
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1501118432
Publisher: Atria Books
The Blackbird Season

Nate Winters, a coach and teacher, and his wife, Alecia, are held in high esteem by the locals of their sleepy town.

All that however changes when a reporter looking into a mysterious starling phenomenon finds Nate embracing a student named Lucia Hamm.

To make things worse, Lucia intensifies things by claiming that the two are having an affair.

So when Lucia mysteriously vanishes, all blame falls on Nate.

Bridget Harris, Nate's colleague, is however convinced of his innocence and will do whatever it takes to prove it.

The truth about clearing Nate’s name however lies not only within the school, but also in Lucia’s journal.

Author: Kate Moretti
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-1501118456
Publisher: Atria Books
In Her Bones

A decade and a half ago, Lilith Wade was apprehended for the abhorrent killing of six women.

Following a death row conviction and media mayhem, Lilith’s adult daughter Edie is a recovering alcoholic struggling to keep a low profile.

Edie is however heavily fixated on the loved ones of Lilith’s victims, determined to know if they have moved on or haven't just like her.

Everything however falls apart for her after one of the family members is found brutally killed, with the blame swiftly falling on her.

Unable to recall anything about the night of the murder, Edie must uncover the truth before it’s too late.

Author: Kate Moretti
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1501166471
Publisher: Atria Books
Girls of Brackenhill

After losing her aunt in a tragic accident, Hannah Maloney moves back to her family’s castle in the Catskills where her sister mysteriously vanished—never to be seen or heard from again.

Although nearly two decades have passed, Hannah, who is now engaged, still has several unanswered questions.

When a human bone is discovered next to the estate, Hannah launches her own investigation; convinced that it’s her sister’s bone.

But as she begins to dig for clues, mysterious things start happening.

And soon enough, Hannah will learn that not all secrets should be unearthed.

Author: Kate Moretti
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-1542000086
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
The Spires

Strung between two teenagers, an unemployed husband, and a tenuous career, Penelope Cox barely has her life together when the past comes knocking at her door. Willa Blaine, her old roommate, needs her help: refuge from an abusive husband. “Two weeks tops,” she says―but it’s not the imposition that bothers Penelope; it’s the memories Willa brings with her.

Twenty years earlier, Penelope, Willa, and three friends lived together in a converted church. Insular and closed off from the rest of the world, the five roommates formed their own dysfunctional family, celebrating the pinnacle of their lives; they called themselves “the Spires.” But nights of wild parties gave way to a darker undercurrent: jealousy, resentment, unrequited love, and obsession. Tensions boiled over during a night of debauchery that ended in a deadly fire, leaving the Spires scattered and forever changed.

Now Willa is the perfect houseguest: accommodating, helpful, bringing a newfound sense of excitement to the Cox household. Yet Penelope can’t help but feel the cracks in her life widen as she begins to question Willa’s motives. Everyone has secrets, it seems―and the fire may have brought down the Spires, but not everything burned was forgotten.

Author: Kate Moretti
First Release: 2021
ISBN: 978-1542021715
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer


While You Were Gone (I Thought I Knew You Novella)

Although Karen Caughee desperately tries to focus on her music, her life is slowly falling apart.

Her mother’s love for the liquor bottle is alarming, while her brother’s unwillingness to recognize it as a problem only worsens things. Furthermore, her personal life and musical career has stagnated.

So when she crosses paths with an enchanting and alienated guy in a bar, Karen is surprisingly drawn to him.

He understands her more than anybody else, and makes her question everything she has ever known.

But when an unfortunate tragedy occurs, Karen is forced to confront the full truth about who she loves and the person she has become.

Author: Kate Moretti
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-1940215525
Publisher: Red Adept Publishing