Browse Authors:

Books by Delia Owens

Delia Owens is an American internationally bestselling co-author of nonfiction books inspired by her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa.

Born in southern Georgia, Delia knew from an early age that she loved two things passionately: nature and writing.

However, when it came to college, she preferred pursuing a career in science rather than literature, earning a Bachelor of Science degree in zoology from the University of Georgia, and a Ph.D. in Animal Behavior from the University of California in Davis.

After living and conducting research in the Kalahari, Delia co-authored the award-winning book, Cry of the Kalahari, whereas her research on the evolution of social denning in brown hyenas earned her a doctorate.

A recipient of the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing, Delia currently lives in North Carolina.

More about Delia Owens

Genre: Non-fiction

Born: 1949

United States


Non Series

Where the Crawdads Sing

For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast.

So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand.

Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life—until the unthinkable happens.

Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Author: Delia Owens
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-0735219106
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group