Browse Authors:
  • Home
  • P
  • Christopher Paolini

Christopher Paolini books in order

Christopher Paolini is an American bestselling novelist who has authored the Inheritance Cycle; a book series made up of Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr and Inheritance.

Born in 1983, Christopher often wrote poems and short stories as a child, and even made frequent visits to the library.

He began writing Eragon as a hobby at the age of fifteen, and the book got published in 2002 by family-owned publishing company, Paolini International LLC.

Christopher was recognized in 2011 by the Guinness World Records as the “Youngest author of a bestselling book series.”

He lives in Paradise Valley, Montana-the same place he wrote his first book.

More about Christopher Paolini

Genre: Fantasy / SF

Born: 1983


Non Series

  • Eragon's Guide to Alagaësia (2009)

The Inheritance Cycle

  1. Eragon (2002)
  2. Eldest (2005)
  3. Brisingr (2008)
  4. Inheritance (2011)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Eragon's Guide to Alagaësia

From the creators of the bestselling Dragonology, Egyptology and Piratelogy books comes an exclusive peek into the world of Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance cycle.

From elves and dwarves to Urgals and dragons, from Eragon himself to the natural landscape in all its magical glamour, faces behind the names will be revealed in this detailed, unsurpassed tour of Alagaësia.

Embroidered with gorgeous jewels to adorn the cover whilst having pages filled with envelopes, gatefolds, samples of dragon skin and many more, Eragon’s Guide to Alagaësia will without question provide a visual insight into Christopher Paolini’s bestselling Inheritance cycle.

Author: Christopher Paolini
First Release: 2009
ISBN: 978-0375858239
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

The Inheritance Cycle


Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is nothing more than an indigent farm boy, up until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed.

Gifted with a loyal dragon, an ancient sword and sage advice from an old storyteller, he is plunged into a dangerous life of magic, glory and power; with the choice to either save or destroy the kingdom.

Having sold over 35 million copies across the globe, Eragon will certainly be a treat to fans of Lord of the Rings.

Author: Christopher Paolini
First Release: 2002
ISBN: 978-0375826696
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Having just, alongside his dragon Saphira, saved the rebel state from devastation by King Galbatorix’s fearsome forces, Eragon must travel to Ellesmera, land of the elves, to gain more training in magic and swordsmanship-integral skills of the Dragon Rider.

While on the journey, Eragon’s days are filled with fresh adventure and his eyes are open to new places and people, until he is plagued by chaos and betrayal at every turn; leaving him not knowing whom to trust.

Author: Christopher Paolini
First Release: 2005
ISBN: 978-0375840401
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Just a few months after Eragon first uttered “brisingr,” the ancient language term for fire, he has not only learnt how to create magic with words, but also been challenged to his very core.

Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, escape by a whisker from the mighty battle on the Burning Plains against the Empire’s warriors.

He however finds himself bound by a web of promises to his cousin, the Varden, the elves and dwarves; one that may lead him to make unimaginable sacrifices when danger strikes!

Author: Christopher Paolini
First Release: 2008
ISBN: 978-0375826740
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Eragon was, not long ago, nothing more than an indigent farm boy, while Saphira, his dragon, was just but a blue stone in the forest. Yet now, the destiny of an entire civilization rests upon their shoulders.

Although long months of training and battle have brought victories and hope, they have equally brought heart-wrenching loss. 

Stepping up against Galbatorix is however the real battle; one that they must be strong enough to win. For if they don’t, no one else will…

Author: Christopher Paolini
First Release: 2011
ISBN: 978-0375846311
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers