Browse Authors:

S.J Parris books in order

S.J Parris is the pseudonym of Stephanie Jane Merritt, the No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author of mystery, suspense, historical thriller and historical fiction novels.

Born in Surrey, England, she attended Queens’ College, Cambridge, where she began reviewing books professionally.

Her Giordano Bruno Books have sold copies in 20 countries, such as Turkey, China and Brazil.

A consistent speaker and chair at literary events, Stephanie currently lives with her son in Surrey.

Whenever she isn’t reading or writing, or engaging about the two, Stephanie loves going on long walks.

More about S.J Parris

Genres: Historical Fiction, Historical Thriller, Mystery, Suspense

Born: 1974

United Kingdom

Pseudonym: S.J Parris


Giordano Bruno Books

  1. The Secret Dead (2013)
  2. Heresy (2010)
  3. Prophecy (2011)
  4. Sacrilege (2012)
  5. Treachery (2014)
  6. Conspiracy (2016)
  7. Execution (2020)


  1. The Dead of Winter: Three Giordano Bruno Novellas (2020)

Detailed book overview

Giordano Bruno Books

The Secret Dead

The year is 1566 in Naples.

In the summer heat, a young Giordano Bruno gets admitted to the Dominican Order, in spite of the reservations over his ability to pose hard questions.

While helping in the infirmary, he observes an illegal post-mortem being carried out on the lifeless remains of a youthful woman.

With the autopsy comes a sinister secret, one which convinces Bruno that the victim’s death was everything but accidental.

Digging deeper into the case, he uncovers clues which trail back to an influential figure determined to bury the truth forever.

Will Bruno pursue justice for the victim at the expense of his future in the Order?

Author: S.J Parris
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-0008102098
Publisher: Harper Collins

The year is 1583 in Oxford.

Rumors are running wild over the planned assassination of Queen Elizabeth in an effort to reinstate the nation back to the reign of the Catholics.

The sole responsibility of averting this disaster lies in the hands of Sir Francis Walsingham, the Queen’s spymaster, who won’t rest until all the turncoats are destroyed.

Among his recent recruits is Giordano Bruno, a radical thinker who is running away from the Inquisition.

Sent on a covert mission to Oxford to uncover a Catholic ploy, Bruno has his own secret assignment at the institution—until a murderous intrigue propels him to shocking discoveries.

Author: S.J Parris
First Release: 2010
ISBN: 978-0767932523
Publisher: Anchor

It's the autumn of 1583 in England.

A mysterious astrological event marks the beginning of a new era. Queen Elizabeth’s reign on the Tudor throne is under threat.

As Mary Stuart's loyalists devise a ploy to forcefully take over the reins of power, a youthful maid of honor is vicious killed, with occult symbols on her flesh left behind as the calling card.

Determined to gather the evidence and execute the traitors is Francis Walsingham, the Queen's spymaster, who assigns the task to his free-thinking agent, Giordano Bruno.

Although the evidence that Bruno is looking for is within reach, the killing of the youthful woman could lead to more shocking revelations.

Author: S.J Parris
First Release: 2011
ISBN: 978-0767932530
Publisher: Anchor

It’s the summer of 1584.

Word is that Queen Elizabeth is the next one on the hit list, following the execution of a Protestant Prince a radical Catholic.

As terror reigns in London and the Black Death forces locals to flee, Giordano Bruno remains behind, only to realize that someone is on his trail.

Upon facing the mysterious figure, Bruno discovers that the woman is his former lover, who is now accused of murder.

Journeying to Canterbury at the behest of the Queen’s spymaster, Sir Francis Walsingham, and to also exonerate her name, Bruno is determined to uncover the murderous plots.

A dark conspiracy however lies in the nation's holiest shrine.

Author: S.J Parris
First Release: 2012
ISBN: 978-0307947468
Publisher: Anchor

The year is 1583.

Pairing up with his friend, Sir Philip Sidney, agent Giordano Bruno journeys to Plymouth at the behest of the Queen, where he encounters Sir Francis Drake, who is on the brink of beginning an audacious voyage against the Spanish.

What he however doesn’t know is that Sidney intends on leaving with Drake’s fleet and returning a conqueror—persuading Bruno in the process.

When a brutal murder however takes place aboard Drake’s vessel, Bruno launches an investigation which is threatened by lethal bitterness.

His search for the killer in Plymouth will however uncover sinister secrets which if not solved, could threaten Bruno, as well as the entire nation.

Author: S.J Parris
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-0007481224
Publisher: Harper Collins

The year is 1585.

Upon arriving in Paris, agent Giordano Bruno discovers that King Henri III is on the verge of being usurped by the Duke of Guise and his radical Catholics, and another mass murder is on the horizon.

So when he reaches out to an old enemy, Father Paul Lefèvre, for help, Bruno is shocked to learn about the brutal killing of the priest.

Plunged into a web of political schemes and court conspiracies, Bruno is continually stalked by informers of the King’s mother, Catherine de Medici.

When another body is found, this time round in the Palace, Bruno finds himself searching for a killer determined to forever bury the truth.

Author: S.J Parris
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-0007481279
Publisher: Harper Collins

The year is 1586.

Upon returning to England, radical thinker turned agent, Giordano Bruno, has some appalling news for Sir Francis Walsingham—the Queen’s spymaster.

A group of Catholic Englishmen have devised a sinister scheme to assassinate Queen Elizabeth and free Mary, Queen of Scots, from prison so that she can ascend to the English throne.

What however surprises Bruno is that despite knowing of the scheme, Walsingham isn’t doing anything about it.

Sent on a covert mission where he infiltrates the traitors, will Bruno stop them before it’s too late?

A queen must be executed. But who will it be?

Author: S.J Parris
First Release: 2020
Ebook: B01M7ZY45H
Publisher: Harper Collins


The Dead of Winter: Three Giordano Bruno Novellas

When the lifeless remains of a young girl are discovered in a Neapolitan monastery, apprentice monk Giordano Bruno endeavors to solve the mystery behind the killing.
Will his investigation cost him his position in the Dominican Order—or far worse?

Upon receiving an invitation from a secret society of learned philosophers under the leadership of the queer Don Giambattista della Porta, Bruno is fascinated—until the secrets start unfurling.

Bruno fears for the worst after being summoned by the pope, who is captivated by his gift for sophisticated memory games. Will he get out of Rome alive?

Author: S.J Parris
First Release: 2020
Ebook: B088YJQ6GX
Publisher: Harper Collins