Browse Authors:

Ed Protzel books in order

Ed Protzel is an American author of historical fiction, mystery and thriller novels.

Raised in St. Louis, he holds an M.A. in English/creative writing from the University of Missouri-St. Louis.

Although he started writing novels and screenplays back in college, Ed never had much time to focus on them due to his jobs in securities management.

He had a stint in Hollywood where he undertook freelance work for 20th Century Fox, finished a number of original screenplays, and even received an option from a producer.

Ed later left Hollywood and published his first book, The Lies That Bind in 2015.

More about Ed Protzel

Genres: Historical Fiction, Mystery, Thriller

United States


DarkHorse Trilogy

  1. The Lies That Bind (2015)
  2. Honor Among Outcasts (2018)
  3. Something in Madness (2020)

David Greenberg Mystery Books

  1. The Antiquities Dealer (2018)
David Greenberg Mystery Books

Detailed book overview

DarkHorse Trilogy

The Lies That Bind

Durksen Hurst, a shattered half-breed abolitionist, goes back to Mississippi hoping to gain some salvation from his dark past, and perhaps glory.

When he however meets a dozen desperate slaves, he talks them into starting a plantation in what will be a partnership.

This is quite the project, one which will challenge the dominance of a powerful family.

When Antoinette DuVallier—an enigmatic woman from New Orleans who is strangely connected to the Frenches—arrives in an effort to find her boy who mysteriously vanished, long-buried secrets are uncovered.

As the treachery unfurls, each shocking discovery sheds more light on what it truly means to be human

Author: Ed Protzel
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-0692591888
Publisher: TouchPoint Press
Honor Among Outcasts

After barely making it out of Mississippi alive, abolitionist Durksen Hurst, his lover Antoinette DuVallier, and their band of undocumented slaves turned friends, arrive in Missouri during the Civil War—the most vicious period of evil, death and devastation in the history of America.

Caught in an endless and devastating cycle of bloodshed and vengeance, and wounded by Quantrill’s cold-blooded Lawrence killings and the Union army’s vicious Order No. Eleven, Durk and his loved ones finds themselves in a desperate battle to stay alive.

Author: Ed Protzel
First Release: 2018
Ebook: B077YRFB9J
Publisher: TouchPoint Press
Something in Madness

The year is 1865. The Civil War is over.

Upon going back to Mississippi, Durksen Hurst and his three black friends, the only survivors of a Union colored cavalry regiment, find a destroyed home; one rife with nonconforming Confederates who want nothing to do with emancipation.

An unshaken Durk however begins a law practice in an effort to assist former slaves, only to faced stern opposition.

A black school is torched and a petition march to Jackson is threatened.

And when one of his friends mysteriously vanishes, Durk makes a shocking discovery.

How will he win against armed rogues and a flawed judicial system?

Author: Ed Protzel
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-1952816109
Publisher: TouchPoint Press

David Greenberg Mystery Books

The Antiquities Dealer

David Greenberg receives the shock of his life when he gets a call from Miriam Solomon, the only woman that he ever loved, while at his antiquities gallery in St. Louis.

Two decades earlier, Miriam had without explanation taken off to Israel with her best friend, Solly, a smart and youthful nerdy scientist.

But now she reaches out to David, claiming that Solly took his life away.

Miriam desperately needs his help on Solly’s unfinished secret research project: one that entails possessing the last nail from the crucifixion of Jesus.

Is she being honest? If so, what is the significance of the nail?

Author: Ed Protzel
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1946920508
Publisher: TouchPoint Press