Browse Authors:
  • Home
  • R
  • Helen Klein Ross

Helen Klein Ross books in order

Helen Klein Ross is an American poet and author of historical fiction, women's fiction, literary fiction and contemporary fiction novels.

Born in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, Helen is a graduate of Cornell University.

She also holds an MFA from The New School.

Prior to becoming an author, Helen had a career in advertising, where she was the creator of the award winning ad blog, AdBroad, and the celebrated Twitter handle @BettyDraper.

She is an avid speaker on 21st century storytelling, with appearances in Duke and Columbia Universities.

Helen's work has previously appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and in The Iowa Review, where she clinched the 2014 Iowa Review award in poetry.

She currently lives with her husband in New York City and Lakeville, Connecticut.

More about Helen Klein Ross

Genres: Contemporary , Fiction, Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction, Women's Fiction

United States


Non Series

  • Making It (2013)
  • What Was Mine (2016)
  • Someone Else's Child (2016)
  • The Latecomers (2018)

Poetry Collections

  1. The Traveler's Vade Mecum (2016)
Poetry Collections

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Making It

Successful, feisty, and approaching a Certain Age, Audrey is afraid of becoming obsolete in the ever-changing advertising business. She has worked for the Madison Avenue firm Tadd Collins for nearly twenty years.

When the firm acquires a smaller company, she is promoted and partnered with Kabal Prakash, an ambitious, attractive hotshot from London. Meanwhile, frustration mounts at home as she unsuccessfully tries to help her teenage son, Paley, get into her old alma mater. As she flirts with a relationship with her new boss Kabal, her irritation with her husband grows.

Should Audrey give in to her new boss and his youthful corporate ambition? Can she cut it in a quickly changing industry? Or does she belong with her gray-ponytailed husband, whose only ambition is to perfect his recipe for mead?

Author: Helen Klein Ross
First Release: 2013
Ebook: B009UVLPSG
Publisher: Pocket Star
What Was Mine

Lucy Wakefield is a seemingly ordinary woman who does something extraordinary in a desperate moment: she takes a baby girl from a shopping cart and raises her as her own. It’s a secret she manages to keep for over two decades—from her daughter, the babysitter who helped raise her, family, coworkers, and friends.

When Lucy’s now-grown daughter Mia discovers the devastating truth of her origins, she is overwhelmed by confusion and anger and determines not to speak again to the mother who raised her. She reaches out to her birth mother for a tearful reunion, and Lucy is forced to flee to China to avoid prosecution. What follows is a ripple effect that alters the lives of many and challenges our understanding of the very meaning of motherhood.

Simply told but deeply affecting, in the bestselling tradition of Alice McDermott and Tom Perrotta, this urgent novel unravels the heartrending yet unsentimental tale of a woman who kidnaps a baby in a superstore—and gets away with it for twenty-one years.

Author: Helen Klein Ross
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1476732350
Publisher: Gallery Books
Someone Else's Child

"Some people will go to any lengths to have a baby..."

Lucy Wakefield wants a child more than anything. So when she finds a seemingly abandoned baby in a store, she sees it as a sign. She doesn't mean for it to go as far it does.

Little does she realize the impact her reckless decision will have on the heartbroken family she leaves in her wake – or on the daughter she raises as her own.

Mia Wakefield has always known she was adopted, but now she is about to discover the devastating secret of her birth – and the lengths her mother went to...

Author: Helen Klein Ross
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1785033803
Publisher: Ebury
The Latecomers

In 1908, sixteen-year-old Bridey runs away from her small town in Ireland with her same-age sweetheart Thom. But when Thom dies suddenly of ship fever on their ocean crossing, Bridey finds herself alone and pregnant in a strange new world.

Forced by circumstance to give up the baby for adoption, Bridey finds work as a maid for the Hollingworth family at a lavish, sprawling estate. It's the dawn of a new century: innovative technologies are emerging, women's roles are changing, and Bridey is emboldened by the promise of a fresh start. She cares for the Hollingworth children as if they were her own, until a mysterious death changes Bridey and the household forever.

For decades, the terrible secrets of Bridey's past continue to haunt the family. And in the present day, the youngest Hollingworth makes a connection that finally brings these dark ghost stories into the light.

Author: Helen Klein Ross
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-0316476881
Publisher: Back Bay Books

Poetry Collections

The Traveler's Vade Mecum

The original Traveler’s Vade Mecum, published in 1853, contained thousands of telegrams. Ross chose telegrams as titles for poems solicited from dozens of poets, including Bollingen Prize winner Frank Bidart and former US Poet Laureate Billy Collins to create a digital-age compendium of old-world poetics.

Here are lyric poems, language poems, prose poems, found poems, haikus, pantoums, ekphrases, epistolary poems, acrostics, sonnets and mirror sonnets. Demonstrating the range of what poetry can do, this book provides a fascinating glimpse into the habits and social aspects of 19th century America―and shows how we have evolved 163 years later.

Author: Helen Klein Ross
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1597092241
Publisher: Red Hen Press