Browse Authors:
  • Home
  • R
  • Patrick Rothfuss

Patrick Rothfuss books in order

Patrick Rothfuss is an American writer of epic fantasy.

Born in Madison, Wisconsin, he initially studied chemical engineering in a move that saw him leap from major to major before finally graduating with a B.A. in English from the University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point.

Patrick is best known for The Kingkiller Chronicle book series which won several accolades, including the 2007 Quill Award for The Name of the Wind; the debut novel in the series.

Rothfuss has two sons and lives with his girlfriend, Sarah.

More about Patrick Rothfuss

Genre: Fantasy / SF

Born: 1973


The Kingkiller Chronicle

  1. The Name of the Wind (2007)
  2. In The Wise Man's Fear (2011)
  3. The Slow Regard of Silent Things (2014)

Detailed book overview

The Kingkiller Chronicle

The Name of the Wind

The Name of the Wind is the first installation of the fantasy trilogy The Kingkiller Chronicle. It is a captivating story about Kvothe; a young man who goes on to become one of the most infamous wizards his world has ever seen.

From growing up in a troupe of traveling players, to spending a number of years as a near-feral orphan in a city crippled with crime, to his audaciously immodest yet successful bid to go to a legendary school of magic, this book will transport readers into the body and mind of a magician.

Author: Patrick Rothfuss
First Release: 2007
ISBN: 978-0756405892
Publisher: DAW
In The Wise Man's Fear

Kvothe desperately searches for answers in an attempt to not only unearth the truth about the mysterious Amyr but also learn about the Chandrian, and the unfortunate death of his parents.

While undertaking the mission, he finds himself on trial by the acclaimed Adem mercenaries; left with no option but to restore the honor of his family by travelling into the Fae realm.

It is there that he meets the irresistible Felurian; the faerie woman who no man has ever survived…but Kvothe isn’t just any man!

Taking his first strides on the path of the hero, Kvothe will learn of the challenges that come with being a legend in his own time.

Author: Patrick Rothfuss
First Release: 2011
ISBN: 978-0756407124
Publisher: DAW
The Slow Regard of Silent Things

Deep below the University lays a dark place. It’s a shattered web of ancient corridors and deserted rooms that not many people know about.

A young mysterious woman by the name Auri lives there; surrounded by the extensive tunnels of the long forgotten Underthing.

The Slow Regard of Silent Things is a bittersweet look into the life of Auri, through her own eyes as she takes on a small adventure with no one else but herself.

Through the book, readers will come to learn of things that only Auri knows....

This is the story of a broken girl trying to live in an equally broken world.

Author: Patrick Rothfuss
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-0756411329
Publisher: DAW