Browse Authors:

Megan Shepherd books in order

Megan Shepherd is a New York Times bestseller and Carnegie Medal-nominated author of young adult and middle grade novels.

Raised in her family’s independent bookstore in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Megan earned her degree in International Studies from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, before later joining the US Peace Corps, where she lived on a tiny village in Senegal for two years.

She currently lives on a haunted 125-year-old farm in the outskirts of Asheville, North Carolina, with her husband and children, and a plethora of animals.

More about Megan Shepherd

Genre: Young Adult

United States


Non Series

  • The Secret Horses of Briar Hill (2016)

Cage Series

  1. The Cage (2015)
  2. The Hunt (2016)
  3. The Gauntlet (2017)

Grim Lovelies

  1. Grim Lovelies (2018)
  2. Midnight Beauties (2019)

Madman's Daughter Series

  1. The Madman's Daughter (2013)
  2. Her Dark Curiosity (2014)
  3. A Cold Legacy (2015)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

The Secret Horses of Briar Hill

The winged horses can be found in the mirrors of Briar Hill hospital.

The mirrors that reflect the stylish rooms, which once belonged to a princess, is now filled with sick children.

Emmaline is the only one who can see them. But that’s her secret.

One morning, while climbing over the wall of the hospital’s deserted gardens, Emmaline discovers a white horse that crossed over to her world.

Named Foxfire, the horse not only has a broken wing but also hides from an evil Black Horse.

Can Emmaline however find color in a world of gray in order to protect Foxfire?

Author: Megan Shepherd
First Release: 2016

Cage Series

The Cage

Upon waking up in a desert, Cora Mason has no recollection of where she is or how she ended up there.

As she endeavors to find out more, Cora realizes that she isn’t alone. In her company are four other teenagers, all of whom are being watched over by sinister black widows.

None of the four teenagers—who include a gorgeous model, a tattooed smuggler, a reserved genius, and an army brat who seemingly knows a lot about Cora’s past—knows how they got there.

As they gradually learnt to trust each other, the teenagers shockingly discover that they are human exhibits in an otherworldly zoo.

Author: Megan Shepherd
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-0062243065
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
The Hunt

Cora, Lucky, and Mali have been condemned to the worst level of human captives following their botched plan to escape from captivity.

All forced to serve the new Kindred masters in various capacities, Cora is now a lounge singer, Lucky is an animal wrangler, while Mali serves as a safari guide.

Nok and Rolf on the other hand have been relocated to a huge dollhouse, on constant surveillance by Kindred scientists interested in Nok’s pregnancy.

Leon, the only one who managed to escape, has joined forces with the evil Mosca black-market traders.

Offered a lifeline by the very Kindred who deceived her, will Cora trust Cassian? Or will she find her own way out?

Author: Megan Shepherd
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-0062243102
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
The Gauntlet

Having finally escaped from the Kindred station, Cora and her friends set camp at Armstrong—a seeming secure place on a tiny moon.

They hope to buy enough time to regroup and come up with a strategy that will help them win the Gauntlet—the tough competition to prove humanity’s intelligence and rewardingly win over their freedom.

Ruled by a greedy sheriff, Armstrong however isn’t a safe haven for them, as it's an oppressive place where teenagers are forced to work in the mines.

And as Nok’s due date draws closer, the former captives are faced with their toughest challenge yet.

Author: Megan Shepherd
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-0062243133
Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Grim Lovelies

Grim Lovelies

Seventeen-year-old Anouk can’t help but envy the human world where people enjoy the very best of fast cars, luxury fashion, and have the free will to fall in love.

It’s no surprise that Anouk envies all that as she isn’t human, but is rather enchanted from animal to human girl and banned from going beyond the confines of her Parisian prison.

A Beastie by nature, she is destined for a life surrounded by dust bunnies and cinders serving Mada Vittora, the evil witch who cast a spell on her.

All that however changes one day when the lifeless body of her mistress is discovered, with Anouk accused of being responsible for the crime.

Author: Megan Shepherd
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-0358108238
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Midnight Beauties

Seventeen-year-old Anouk has wanted to become a witch from the moment she discovered her affinity for magic.

For a Beastie like Anouk, animals enchanted into humans, it’s the only way that she can rescue her friends.

Other Beasties weren’t as lucky as her, as they couldn’t make it safely out of the battle at Montélimar.

With her friends now imprisoned in their animal forms, Anouk has no other option but to enter into a political marriage with her archrival.

Power is however about to come at a hefty price.

Author: Megan Shepherd
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-0358434658
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Madman's Daughter Series

The Madman's Daughter

Sixteen-year-old Juliet Moreau now works as a maid in London, determined to survive on her own and bury the dark past that destroyed her life.

In spite of everything, allegations that her father conducted hideous experiments on animals have been nothing more than empty allegations—until she learns of his whereabouts.

With the help of Montgomery, her father's gorgeous young assistant, and a mysterious castaway named Edward, Juliet journeys to the tropical island, only to uncover her father’s gruesome experiments on animals.

Divided between trepidation and scientific marvel, Juliet must bring a stop to the perilous experiments before it's too late.

But what happens when she learns of her father's genius and the insanity running through her veins?

Author: Megan Shepherd
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-0062128034
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Her Dark Curiosity

Returning to London after witnessing the horror on her father’s tropical island, Juliet is desperate to rebuild her life and quickly forget about her father's madness.

When those close to her get murdered under mysterious circumstances, with a calling card of three claw-like slashes being the only clue, it soon becomes apparent to Juliet that someone hasn't forgotten her.

Could it be possible that one of her father's wild experiments has escaped the island?

As she desperately tries to stop a killer on the loose whilst searching for an antidote to cure her ailment that is getting severe, Juliet once again gets caught up in world of scandal and danger.

Author: Megan Shepherd
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-0062128065
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
A Cold Legacy

Juliet and her friends took off to a distant estate on the Scottish moors after destroying the men who tried to steal her father's research.

A place belonging to the mysterious Elizabeth von Stein, the strange mansion harbors dead bodies, hidden passages, and fortune tellers who seem to know Juliet's secrets.

Although it seems to be a safe haven for them, Juliet fears that new dangers may lie within the walls of the manor.

A fine line between right and wrong however forms when Juliet discovers the truth behind the manor's long history of scientific experimentation.

Will she follow in the footsteps of her father or mother, or create her own path?

Author: Megan Shepherd
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-0062128096
Publisher: Balzer + Bray