Browse Authors:

Books by Royd Tolkien

Royd Tolkien is a British author of memoirs and non-fiction.

He grew up in a family of storytellers, with his great-grandfather being the renowned English writer and philologist, J.R.R. Tolkien.

Royd's passion for storytelling led him to take up acting roles in two of Peter Jackson's films, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King and The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, which eventually inspired him to pursue a career in film production.

Although he went on to produce two films, his plans were put on hold when his younger brother, Mike, was diagnosed with motor neurone disease in 2012.

Royd dedicated his time to caring for Mike until he passed away on 28 January 2015.

In honor of his brother's memory, Royd completed a feature-length documentary titled "There's a Hole in My Bucket," which follows his journey around New Zealand as he fulfills the bucket list left by Mike.

The author currently resides in Wales.

More about Royd Tolkien

Genres: Memoirs, Non-fiction

Born: 1969

United Kingdom


There's a Hole in my Bucket: A Journey of Two Brothers

An inspirational, life-affirming memoir from the great-grandson of J.R.R. Tolkien.

Having grown up on their great-grandfather’s stories, Royd Tolkien and his brother, Mike, have always enjoyed adventures. So when Mike is diagnosed with motor neurone disease, also known as ALS, the brothers decide to use the time they have left to tick off as much as possible from Mike’s bucket list, from remote camping in Norway to travelling through Royd’s beloved New Zealand.

Yet, when Royd loses Mike, he discovers his brother had been writing another kind of bucket list: fifty things he wanted Royd to do after his death. His first task? Mike wants his mild-mannered brother to trip up on his way to the lectern to deliver his eulogy. What follows is a set of emotionally charged tests that will push Royd firmly out of his comfort zone.

This is the story of Royd’s journey to accomplish a challenging, humorous, and often heartbreaking list of unknown tasks that chart the brothers’ lives from childhood to adulthood. But above all, it is a story of the sibling bond, of grief—and of treasuring every moment.

Author: Royd Tolkien
First Release: 2021
ISBN: 978-1542027571
Publisher: Little A