Browse Authors:

Amor Towles books in order

Amor Towles is an American author of historical fiction and literary fiction whose books have been New York Times bestsellers.

Born and raised in Boston, Massachusetts, Amor Towles is an alumnus of Yale College and the holder of an MA in English from Stanford University.

Prior to becoming a full-time fiction writer, he worked as an investment professional for more than two decades.

His novels Rules of Civility (2011), A Gentleman in Moscow (2016), and The Lincoln Highway (2021) have cumulatively sold over 6 million copies, earning translations of more than thirty languages.

The books have done exceptionally well, so much so that both Bill Gates and President Barack Obama added A Gentleman in Moscow and The Lincoln Highway on their annual book recommendation lists.

Amor Towles currently lives in Manhattan with his beloved wife and two children.

More about Amor Towles

Genres: Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction

Born: 1964

United States


Non Series

  • Rules of Civility (2011)
  • A Gentleman in Moscow (2016)
  • The Lincoln Highway (2021)

Forward Series

  1. You Have Arrived at Your Destination (Book 4) (2019)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Rules of Civility

On the last night of 1937, twenty-five-year-old Katey Kontent is in a second-rate Greenwich Village jazz bar when Tinker Grey, a handsome banker, happens to sit down at the neighboring table. 

This chance encounter and its startling consequences propel Katey on a year-long journey into the upper echelons of New York society—where she will have little to rely upon other than a bracing wit and her own brand of cool nerve.

Author: Amor Towles
First Release: 2011
ISBN: 978-0143121169
Publisher: Penguin Books
A Gentleman in Moscow

In 1922, Count Alexander Rostov is deemed an unrepentant aristocrat by a Bolshevik tribunal, and is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol, a grand hotel across the street from the Kremlin.

 Rostov, an indomitable man of erudition and wit, has never worked a day in his life, and must now live in an attic room while some of the most tumultuous decades in Russian history are unfolding outside the hotel’s doors. Unexpectedly, his reduced circumstances provide him entry into a much larger world of emotional discovery.

Author: Amor Towles
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-0143110439
Publisher: Penguin Books
The Lincoln Highway

In June, 1954, eighteen-year-old Emmett Watson is driven home to Nebraska by the warden of the juvenile work farm where he has just served fifteen months for involuntary manslaughter. 

His mother long gone, his father recently deceased, and the family farm foreclosed upon by the bank, Emmett's intention is to pick up his eight-year-old brother, Billy, and head to California where they can start their lives anew. But when the warden drives away, Emmett discovers that two friends from the work farm have hidden themselves in the trunk of the warden's car. 

Together, they have hatched an altogether different plan for Emmett's future, one that will take them all on a fateful journey in the opposite direction—to the City of New York.

Author: Amor Towles
First Release: 2021
ISBN: 978-0593459874
Publisher: Random House Large Print

Forward Series

You Have Arrived at Your Destination (Book 4)

When Sam’s wife first tells him about Vitek, a twenty-first-century fertility lab, he sees it as the natural next step in trying to help their future child get a “leg up” in a competitive world. But the more Sam considers the lives that his child could lead, the more he begins to question his own relationships and the choices he has made in his life.

NB: Amor Towles’s You Have Arrived at Your Destination is part of Forward, a collection of six stories of the near and far future from out-of-this-world authors. Here is the complete list of the series:

1. Ark (2019) by Veronica Roth

2. Summer Frost (2019) by Blake Crouch

3. Emergency Skin (2019) by N K Jemisin

4. You Have Arrived at Your Destination (2019) by Amor Towles

5. The Last Conversation (2019) by Paul Tremblay

6. Randomize (2019) by Andy Weir

Author: Amor Towles
First Release: 2019
Publisher: Amazon Original Stories