Browse Authors:

Markus Zusak books in order

Markus Zusak is an Australian award winning New York Times and International bestselling author.

Born in Sydney, he studied English and History at the University of New South Wales where he graduated with a B.A and a Diploma of Education.

His books have been translated into over forty languages, with The Book Thief (2005) being adapted into a feature film in 2013 by Twentieth Century Fox.

Markus currently lives in Sydney with his wife and two children.

More about Markus Zusak

Genre: Young Adult

Born: 1975



Non Series

  • I Am the Messenger (2002)
  • The Book Thief (2005)
  • Bridge of Clay (2018)

Underdogs Series

  1. The Underdog (1999)
  2. Fighting Ruben Wolfe (2000)
  3. Getting the Girl (2001)
  4. Underdogs (2013)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

I Am the Messenger

Ed Kennedy is a less-than-average Joe who doesn’t stand a chance winning over the heart of his best friend Audrey.

When he somehow manages to singlehandedly catch a bank robber, he receives the Ace of Diamonds playing card in the mail. This is just but the first message. Four more will soon follow.

By the time this specific card game comes to an end, Ed will be a completely different person.

Will Audrey fall in love with man that he has become?

Author: Markus Zusak
First Release: 2002
ISBN: 978-0375836671
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
The Book Thief

The year is 1939. Nazi Germany. Death has been busy, and is about to get busier.

As Liesel sits by her brother's graveside, she comes across an object partially buried in the snow; unaware that it will change her life forever. The object is The Gravedigger's Handbook, left behind by chance.

This becomes her very first act of book thievery; marking the start of her love affair with books and words.

With the help of her foster father, Liesel learns how to read. It doesn’t take long before she starts stealing books from book-burning Nazis, the mayor's wife's library, and practically anywhere else where books can be found.

These are however perilous times. And the fact that her family is hiding a Jew in their basement makes her world explode.

The Book Thief
Director: Brian Percival
Cast: Roger Allam, Sophie Nélisse, Heike Makatsch, Julian Lehmann, Gotthard Lange, Rainer Reiners, Kirsten Block, Geoffrey Rush, Emily Watson
Author: Markus Zusak
First Release: 2005
ISBN: 978-1784162122
Publisher: TW Adult
Bridge of Clay

“A missing typewriter, a dead dog, and the bones of the snake that killed it.”

Matthew Dunbar, the first of five brothers, is on an epic journey to find them all. It’s only then that he can be able to narrate the shocking story of his family; one characterized by tragedy and a long-held secret.

Through the journey he will learn of a mother who traversed continents in search of a new home; of a father searching for love through an old piano; and of a brother named Clay who will change their lives forever.

Where are you going, and who will you be when you get there? This is a story about redemption and greatness.

Author: Markus Zusak
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-0375845604
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Underdogs Series

The Underdog

My name is Cameron Wolfe and I have a little bit of sense in me. Ruben, my older brother, often lands me into as much trouble as I land him into.

Besides deviously plotting to rob the local dentists, the Wolfe brothers spend a vast majority of their time throwing one-handed boxing matches, since they only have a single pair of gloves.

What Cameron however really desires is to meet a girl. He doesn’t want one like those in the lingerie magazines. He just wants a real girl.

But who on earth could ever fall in love with an underdog like Cameron Wolfe?

Author: Markus Zusak
First Release: 1999
ISBN: 978-1849416993
Publisher: Definitions
Fighting Ruben Wolfe

Wolfe brothers Cameron and Ruben come from a struggling working class family.

In a desperate bid to make some money, the boys link up with a sordid fight promoter who takes advantage of their vulnerability, just as much as he takes advantage of their marketable and audience appealing nature.

Saying nothing of it to their long-suffering mother, Cameron also conceals his thoughts from the girls who come to the matches, the girls he wishes he could reach.

When the Wolfe brothers begin fighting for more than just tips and pay-off money, it soon becomes a fight for their identity and dignity.

But who will make it out of the ring in one piece?

Author: Markus Zusak
First Release: 2000
ISBN: 978-0439241878
Publisher: Push
Getting the Girl

Rube never had any emotional attachment towards any of them. He just wanted each one because she was next. And why would he say no to the next if it was better than the last one?

Rube and I however couldn’t be any different when it comes to women.
Cameron and Ruben are the most loyal of brothers. That unwavering loyalty will face the ultimate test when Cam falls for Octavia - Rube's latest girlfriend.

Will he win over her heart? Will his love for her destroy their brotherly bond? Would Octavia ever open up to a guy like him anyway?

Author: Markus Zusak
First Release: 2001
ISBN: 978-1849418393
Publisher: Definitions

Brothers Cameron and Ruben Wolfe are unmatched when it comes to getting into fights, plotting half-baked schemes and basically disappointing girls, their parents, and their more accomplished older siblings.

Their loyalty to each other is also unmatched. But what happens when Cameron falls madly in love with Ruben's girlfriend?

This volume by Markus Zusak is a collection of the Wolfe Brothers trilogy, complete with The Underdog, Fighting Ruben Wolfe, and Getting the Girl.

Author: Markus Zusak
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-0545542593
Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books