Browse Authors:
  • Home
  • A
  • Elizabeth Acevedo

Elizabeth Acevedo books in order

Elizabeth Acevedo is a Dominican-American poet and New York Times bestselling author, and multiple award-winning author of young adult fiction.

She is best known for writing The Poet X (2018), which has clinched numerous awards, including the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, the Pura Belpré Award, the Carnegie medal, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award, and the Walter Award.

Acevedo is also the author of two acclaimed books: With the Fire on High (2019), which received recognition as a top book of the year by reputable publications such as the New York Public Library, NPR, Publishers Weekly, and School Library Journal, and Clap When You Land (2020), a recipient of the Boston Globe–Horn Book Honor and finalist for the Kirkus prize.

The holder of a BA in Performing Arts from The George Washington University and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Maryland, Acevedo was in 2022 named the Young People's Poet Laureate.

The National Poetry Slam champion currently makes her home in Washington, DC, where she lives with her partner.

More about Elizabeth Acevedo

Genres: Fiction, Young Adult

United States


Non Series

  • The Poet X (2018)
  • With the Fire on High (2019)
  • Clap When You Land (2020)
  • Family Lore (2023)


  1. Beastgirl & Other Origin Myths (2016)
  2. Inheritance (2022)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

The Poet X

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

Author: Elizabeth Acevedo
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-0062662811
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
With the Fire on High

Ever since she got pregnant freshman year, Emoni Santiago’s life has been about making the tough decisions—doing what has to be done for her daughter and her abuela.

The one place she can let all that go is in the kitchen, where she adds a little something magical to everything she cooks, turning her food into straight-up goodness.

Even though she dreams of working as a chef after she graduates, Emoni knows that it’s not worth her time to pursue the impossible. Yet despite the rules she thinks she has to play by, once Emoni starts cooking, her only choice is to let her talent break free.

Author: Elizabeth Acevedo
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-0062662842
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Clap When You Land

Camino Rios lives for the summers when her father visits her in the Dominican Republic. But this time, on the day when his plane is supposed to land, Camino arrives at the airport to see crowds of crying people…

In New York City, Yahaira Rios is called to the principal’s office, where her mother is waiting to tell her that her father, her hero, has died in a plane crash.

Separated by distance—and Papi’s secrets—the two girls are forced to face a new reality in which their father is dead and their lives are forever altered.

And then, when it seems like they’ve lost everything of their father, they learn of each other.

Author: Elizabeth Acevedo
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-0062882776
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Family Lore

Flor has a gift: she can predict, to the day, when someone will die. So when she decides she wants a living wake—a party to bring her family and community together to celebrate the long life she’s led—her sisters are surprised. Has Flor foreseen her own death, or someone else’s? Does she have other motives? She refuses to tell her sisters, Matilde, Pastora, and Camila.

But Flor isn’t the only person with secrets: her sisters are hiding things, too. And the next generation, cousins Ona and Yadi, face tumult of their own.

Author: Elizabeth Acevedo
First Release: 2023
Ebook: B0BL12GVS7
Publisher: Ecco


Beastgirl & Other Origin Myths

BEASTGIRL & OTHER ORIGIN MYTHS by Elizabeth Acevedo is the first title in YesYes Books' BLUE NOTE EDITION Chapbook Series. BEASTGIRL & OTHER ORIGIN MYTHS is a collection of folkloric poems centered on the historical, mythological, gendered, and geographic experiences of a first generation American woman. 

From the border in the Dominican Republic, to the bustling streets of New York City, Acevedo considers how some bodies must walk through the world as beastly beings. How these forgotten myths be both blessing and birthright.

Author: Elizabeth Acevedo
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1936919451
Publisher: YesYes Books

They tell me to “fix” my hair.

And by fix, they mean straighten, they mean whiten; but how do you fix this shipwrecked history of hair?

In her most famous spoken-word poem, author of the Pura Belpré-winning novel-in-verse The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo embraces all the complexities of Black hair and Afro-Latinidad—the history, pain, pride, and powerful love of that inheritance.

Paired with full-color illustrations by artist Andrea Pippins in a format that will appeal to fans of Mahogany L. Browne’s Black Girl Magic or Jason Reynolds’s For Everyone, this poem can now be read in a vibrant package, making it the ideal gift, treasure, or inspiration for readers of any age.

Author: Elizabeth Acevedo
First Release: 2022
Ebook: B09BNH7B3F
Publisher: Quill Tree Books