Browse Authors:

Connie Archer books in order

Connie Archer is an American author of mystery, particularly cozy mystery books.

Best known for writing the Soup Lover's Mystery Series, Connie also writes more cozy mysteries under the pen name Connie di Marco.

Born and raised in New England, she enjoyed the thrills of ice skating on local ponds, collecting clams on the shores of Cape Cod and skiing in the beautiful mountains of Vermont.

Keen about books from her schoolgirl days, Connie spent several years immersing herself in Caesar's Gallic War journals and the twelve books of the Aeneid.

She also performed in a children’s theater troupe in the Boston suburbs, setting up productions in parks and children’s hospitals.

Now the holder of a degree in English literature, Connie has held many different jobs over the years, including being a laboratory technician, cocktail waitress, medical secretary, dinner theater actress, and many more.

She resides in Los Angeles with her family.

More about Connie Archer

Genres: Cozy Mystery, Mystery

United States

Pseudonym: Also known as Connie di Marco


Soup Lover's Mystery

  1. A Spoonful of Murder (2012)
  2. A Broth of Betrayal (2013)
  3. A Roux of Revenge (2014)
  4. Ladle to the Grave (2015)
  5. A Clue in the Stew (2016)

Detailed book overview

Soup Lover's Mystery

A Spoonful of Murder

Winter is big business in small-town Snowflake, Vermont. Tourists arrive to hit the ski slopes—and what could be more satisfying after a chilly day of carving powder than a steaming bowl of soup?

When Lucky Jamieson inherits her parents' soup shop, By the Spoonful, she realizes it's time to take stock of her life. Should she sell her parents' house or move in herself? Does she really want to run a restaurant business? And what about her grandfather Jack, who seems to be showing signs of Alzheimer's?

But her life decisions are moved to the back burner after an icy blonde tourist is found frozen to death behind the soup shop. and Lucky is bowled over when her soup chef, Sage DuBois, is led out of the kitchen by the police. As suspicion and speculations snowball, Lucky decides that the only way to save her employee and her business is to find out herself who iced the tourist--and landed her chef in the soup...

Recipes included!

Author: Connie Archer
First Release: 2012
Ebook: B0072O0020
Publisher: Berkley
A Broth of Betrayal

Even a town called Snowflake, Vermont, has a summer season. In August, Lucky Jamieson’s By the Spoonful serves chilled soups—celery and green onion, cream of asparagus—and salads. The shop also serves as a gathering place to talk about cold-blooded murder…

A protest to stop the construction of an ugly car wash in the middle of the town’s picturesque Village Green is interrupted by the discovery of a skeleton that may date back to the Revolutionary War. While the remains pose a historical mystery, a present-day murder shakes the town to its core when local auto mechanic Harry Hodges is found dead in his shop.

Straining the patience of Chief of Police Nate Edgerton, Lucky soon finds herself in the soup again when her dear friend Elizabeth, the Mayor of Snowflake, goes missing. No matter how much trouble she has to stir up, Lucky is determined to use her noodle to uncover a killer and recover her friend…

Recipes included!

Author: Connie Archer
First Release: 2013
Ebook: B009KUY95I
Publisher: Berkley
A Roux of Revenge

Snowflake, Vermont, is known for its skiing in winter—and its soup all year round, thanks to Lucky Jamieson’s By the Spoonful. Autumn brings golden leaves, pumpkin rice soup, the annual Harvest Festival…and murder. 

Lucky’s soup shop is busier than usual this October, with groups of itinerant travelers in town to work the Harvest Festival. One newcomer seems to take a particular interest in Lucky’s young waitress, Janie, spying on her from across the street. Is the stranger stalking Janie?

After an unidentified man is found murdered in a van by the side of the road, simmering suspicions about the travelers are brought to a boil. But when Janie is put in harm’s way, Lucky must join forces with the travelers to turn up the heat on a killer…

Recipes included!

Author: Connie Archer
First Release: 2014
Ebook: B00F9F0T0M
Publisher: Berkley
Ladle to the Grave

By the Spoonful is Snowflake, Vermont’s most popular soup shop, but owner Lucky Jamieson doesn’t have any time to enjoy her success—she’s too busy trying to keep a lid on false accusations against her loved ones…

It’s almost May, and some of the local ladies have organized a pagan celebration in the woods to welcome spring. But the evening goes terribly wrong when one of the attendees winds up dead, apparently poisoned by an herbal concoction prepared by Lucky’s grandfather, Jack.

Lucky’s sure her grandfather could not have made such a tragic mistake. But before she can clear him of suspicion, her best friend, Sophie, is diverted from planning her wedding to By the Spoonful chef Sage DuBois when she finds a dead man floating in the creek on her property. Now it’s up to Lucky to get both Sophie and Jack out of hot water before a killer stirs up more trouble…

Recipes included!

Author: Connie Archer
First Release: 2015
Ebook: B00LMGLY7E
Publisher: Berkley
A Clue in the Stew

Soup shop owner Lucky Jamieson stirs up more trouble...

When Lucky Jamieson opens up By the Spoonful to host an event with a famous author, she’s not expecting a bunch of nuts to descend on her small-town soup shop. But the author’s exasperating entourage—from a prickly publicist to a snippy son and his tipsy wife—give fresh meaning to the phrase, too many cooks spoil the broth.

The evening is more than spoiled, however, when it ends with a homicide. When the manner of the murder—as well as another recent unsolved crime—echoes the author’s fiction, Police Chief Nate Edgerton realizes he has a copycat killer on his hands. And Lucky hopes that one of her regular customers who has mysteriously gone missing isn’t involved. Once again, the soup shop owner will need to stir up some clues to find her friend and catch a cunning killer—before things really take a tureen for the worse...

Author: Connie Archer
First Release: 2016
Ebook: B011IVPB9Y
Publisher: Berkley