Browse Authors:

Saul Black books in order

Saul Black is the pseudonym of British author Glen Duncan.

He uses the pen name when writing suspense, mystery and thriller novels, and his real name when writing horror books.

Born in Bolton, England, he attended Lancaster University where he studied philosophy and literature.

Prior to turning his attention to fiction writing, Glen spent a number of years in the literary world as a bookseller and later went on to traverse the United States and India.

Recognized by The Times Literary Supplement as one of the twenty best young novelists in Britain, Glen currently resides in London.

More about Saul Black

Genres: Mystery, Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Thriller

Born: 1965

United Kingdom

Pseudonym: Saul Black. Also writes as Glen Duncan (Real Name)

Valerie Hart

  1. The Killing Lessons (2015)
  2. Lovemurder (2016)
  3. Anything for You (2019)

Detailed book overview

Valerie Hart

The Killing Lessons

When the two strangers turn up at Rowena Cooper's isolated Colorado farmhouse, she knows instantly that it's the end of everything. For the two haunted and driven men, on the other hand, it's just another stop on a long and bloody journey. And they still have many miles to go, and victims to sacrifice, before their work is done.

For San Francisco homicide detective Valerie Hart, their trail of victims-women abducted, tortured and left with a seemingly random series of objects inside them-has brought her from obsession to the edge of physical and psychological destruction. And she's losing hope of making a breakthrough before that happens.

But the murders at the Cooper farmhouse didn't quite go according to plan. There was a survivor, Rowena's ten-year-old daughter Nell, who now holds the key to the killings. Injured, half-frozen, terrified, Nell has only one place to go. And that place could be even more dangerous than what she's running from.

Author: Saul Black
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-1250133540
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

When she’s called to the murder scene, the last thing San Francisco Homicide detective Valerie Hart is expecting is for Katherine Glass to walk back into her life. Six years earlier, revulsion and fascination had gripped the nation in equal measure, as beautiful, intelligent, charming—and utterly evil—Katherine Glass had been convicted on six counts of Murder One. But the freshly-mutilated corpse in the ground-floor apartment bears all the hallmarks of Katherine’s victims. And then there’s the note, with its chilling implications. Addressed to Valerie.

To stop the slaughter, Valerie has no choice. She must ask Katherine Glass to help her decipher the killer’s twisted message. But that means re-entering the pitch-black labyrinth that is Katherine’s mind, and this time Valerie isn’t so sure which one of them will survive.

Author: Saul Black
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1409153009
Publisher: Orion
Anything for You

A brutal murder forces one woman to reckon with her own past—and her future.

On a hot summer night, a watchful neighbor locks eyes with an intruder and unwittingly alerts the police to a vicious crime scene next door: a lavish master bedroom where a man lies dead. Next to him, his wife is bleeding out onto the hardwood floor, clinging to life.

The victim, Adam Grant, was a well-known San Francisco prosecutor—a man whose connection to Homicide detective Valerie Hart brings her face-to-face with a life she’s long since left behind. Adam’s career made him an easy target, and forensic evidence points towards an ex-con he put behind bars years ago. 

But while Adam’s wife and daughter grapple with their tragic loss, Valerie uncovers devastating clues that point in a more ominous direction. Lurking in the shadows of the Grants’ pristine life is a mysterious blonde who holds the key to a very different—and much darker—story.

As Valerie struggles to forge a new path for herself, the investigation forces her to confront the question: can we ever really leave our pasts behind?

Author: Saul Black
First Release: 2019
Ebook: B07P9LPYPQ
Publisher: St. Martin's Press