Browse Authors:

Karen Dionne books in order

Karen Dionne is an American USA Today and #1 internationally bestselling author of mystery, thriller and suspense novels.

Her book The Marsh King’s Daughter (2017), published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons in the United States, is a winner of the Barry and the Crimson Scribe Awards for Best Novel. It was also selected as a 2017 book favorite by a number of booksellers and reviewers.

The book has been translated into more than 25 languages across the globe.

Karen, who resides in the northern suburbs of Detroit with her husband, is quite passionate about nature photography.

More about Karen Dionne

Genres: Crime Suspense, Mystery, Thriller

United States


Non Series

  • Freezing Point (2008)
  • Boiling Point (2010)
  • The Marsh King's Daughter (2017)
  • The Wicked Sister (2020)


  1. First Thrills (2010)

Innocence Lost Books

  1. The Killing: Uncommon Denominator (2013)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Freezing Point

 “Salvation and annihilation converge at a single degree.”

Ben Maki’s dreams of providing clean and accessible water to millions is on the verge of reality after he makes an astounding discovery.

What the environmental activist however doesn’t know is that underneath the polar ice, lies a deadly secret; one that could trigger a deadly dispute of humanity, science, large-scale commerce and environmental fanaticism.

The danger involved in the endeavor could very well lead to the ultimate destruction of mankind.

Author: Karen Dionne
First Release: 2008
ISBN: 978-0515145366
Publisher: Jove
Boiling Point

Two microbiologists are looking into the consequence of global warming without paying much attention to Chaiten, a volcano in Chile that went dormant a long time ago.

One of the microbiologists is a celebrity scientist who arrives with his film crew at the caldera to record the magnificent surroundings for the lovers of his television show.

The other microbiologist is a Nobel Prize-winning scientist who is only waiting for a sign that his fiendish plan is about to be executed.

Earth has suddenly become a pawn in a deadly game.

The future of humanity could very well be compromised.

Chaiten is on the verge of exploding!

Author: Karen Dionne
First Release: 2010
Ebook: B01K9607P2
Publisher: Jove
The Marsh King's Daughter

A husband, two lovely daughters, and a job that she loves: Helena has a beautiful home and a decent life.

From the look of things, it’s almost impossible to tell that she had a terrible childhood.

Nobody truly knows about her past.

Raised in a cabin in a deserted area, Helena and her mother lived under the abusive control of her father.

All that however changed one day when twelve-year-old Helena ran away, as the law caught up with her father.

But now, many years later, she receives word that her father has broken out of prison. And he is coming for her.

Determined to protect her family, Helena must go back to the marsh and face her father, becoming the Marsh King's daughter yet again.

Author: Karen Dionne
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-0735213012
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
The Wicked Sister

Rachel Cunningham has confined herself to a psychiatric facility, tormented by unclear recollections and the conviction that she caused the demise of her parents.

However, when new details emerge about the killings, Rachel goes back in an effort to uncover the truth.

Once her safe haven, her family's log cabin in the distant Michigan woods is in a dilapidated state.

As she begins piecing together the events of that tragic day, Rachel shockingly discovers the very thing that her mother discovered a number of years earlier: that home can be a terrible place.

But that’s not the worst part.

The link she has with her sister could quite assuredly be the most venomous of all.

Author: Karen Dionne
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-0735213043
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons


First Thrills

Presented by the International Thriller Writers, Inc. and New York Times bestselling author Lee Child, First Thrills (2010) is a collection of short and exciting tales by some of the most renowned thrillers writers.

From crime tales in tiny towns to extensive global schemes, this is a quick read that will be enjoyed by lovers of the genre.

This original anthology by these celebrated authors has since been divided into four e-book volumes, complete with murder, puzzles, and utter chaos!

Contributing authors include: Lee Child, Michael Palmer and Daniel James Palmer, Karen Dionne, J.T. Ellison, Ryan Brown, Rip Gerber, and Sean Michael Bailey.

Author: Karen Dionne
First Release: 2010
ISBN: 978-1848876941
Publisher: Corvus

Innocence Lost Books

The Killing: Uncommon Denominator

When firefighters are informed of a possible meth blast at a trailer park, they arrive there swiftly only to find a body in a nearby trailer.

Although the man isn’t burned, he has vicious wounds on his head.
With the meth cooker fighting for his life, covert narco officer Stephen Holder gets attached to the child left behind by the man.

When a second body is found in a shipping container at the Seattle port, it soon becomes apparent that the victim was killed in cold blood.

As links between the two cases emerge, Homicide Detective Sarah Linden must plunge herself into a sophisticated chain of addiction, avarice, and treachery in an effort to expose the killer.

Author: Karen Dionne
First Release: 2013
Ebook: B00QCLC8QA
Publisher: Titan Books