Browse Authors:

Isabelle Grey books in order

Isabelle Grey is a British screenwriter and author of mystery, suspense and thriller novels.

Raised in Manchester, England, she attended Newnham College in Cambridge.

Keen about writing for as long as she can recall, Isabelle always knew that she was destined to be a writer.

As a screenwriter, her television writing credits include more than 35 episodes of various series, including The Bill, Casualty, Wycliffe, Rosemary & Thyme and Midsomer Murders, and many more.

As a novelist, she has written the Detective Grace Fisher mystery series, and the standalones Out of Sight (2011) and The Bad Mother (2013).

Writing as both Isabelle Grey and Isabelle Anscombe, Isabelle has written advertising copy, exhibition catalogs, and worked as a ghostwriter, magazine editor, and journalist.

She currently lives in London.

More about Isabelle Grey

Genres: Mystery, Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Thriller

United Kingdom


Non Series

  • Out of Sight (2011)
  • The Bad Mother (2013)

Detective Grace Fisher

  1. Good Girls Don't Die (2014)
  2. Shot Through the Heart (2016)
  3. The Special Girls (2017)
  4. Wrong Way Home (2018)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Out of Sight

Who pays the price once tragedy strikes?

In a small French town, Leonie is intrigued by a withdrawn Englishman who calls himself Patrice. He lives in a house inherited from his grandmother. He has no wife, no child, and refuses ever to get inside a car.

Patrice tells Leonie little about his past, but she's certain her love will heal his emotional scars.

Too late, she discovers that, five years before, Patrice was living in Brighton. He was called Patrick, and he had a wife and son. Until, one hot summer day, a moment of fatal forgetfulness changed his life forever.

Author: Isabelle Grey
First Release: 2011
ISBN: 978-1782921806
Publisher: CB Creative Books
The Bad Mother

Are there secrets that should never be told? If so, how far must a mother go to keep them?

Tessa Parker runs a successful B&B in a seaside town. During a surprise visit, a long-lost aunt lets slip a family secret with devastating consequences.

Navigating her own turmoil at a crucial moment in her children's lives, Tessa's search for her birth father forces her to decide who she really wants to be.

Author: Isabelle Grey
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-0857386489
Publisher: Quercus

Detective Grace Fisher

Good Girls Don't Die

Sometimes the danger is too close to see.

Accused of grassing up a fellow officer and driven brutally out of home and job, DI Grace Fisher is thankful to survive some dark times and find haven with the Major Investigation Team in Essex. Any hopes of a quiet start to her new life are dashed by the discovery of the body of a female student, last seen at a popular bar in Colchester. Grace has her first case.

When a second student, also out drinking, is murdered and left grotesquely posed, the case becomes headline news.

Someone is leaking disturbing details to a tabloid crime reporter. Is it the killer? Or a detective close to the case?

With another victim dead, and under siege by the media, the murder inquiry hits a dead end. The review team brought in to shake things up is headed by Grace's old DCI. Who is going to listen to her now?

Author: Isabelle Grey
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-1782067665
Publisher: Quercus
Shot Through the Heart

Who can you turn to if not the police?

Essex, Christmas Day. As the residents of a small town enjoy their mince pies, shots ring out in the street. Five people are gunned down before the lone shooter turns his weapon on himself.

Grace Fisher, now Detective Inspector, is tasked with making some sense of this atrocity - all the more sensitive because the first of the victims was one of their own: a police officer. The case throws her back together with crime reporter Ivo Sweatman, but as she investigates it becomes clear that the police connection goes much deeper than she thought. 

As the evidence of corruption grows and she is obstructed at every turn, Grace knows she is walking further into danger. Then, her young key witness disappears....

What far-reaching compromises will Grace have to make to safeguard the innocent?

Author: Isabelle Grey
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1786480019
Publisher: Quercus
The Special Girls

Who are the Special Girls? Are they victims or 'asking for it'? A case of historical child sex abuse by a famous doctor is linked to the murder of his young and popular colleague at a summer camp deep in the Essex woods.

A young psychiatric registrar is found beaten to death in the woods close to a summer camp for young patients suffering from eating disorders. It is run by the charismatic, world-renowned Professor Ned Chesham. DI Grace Fisher investigates, but it is not long before she is pulled from the case - to head up a Metropolitan Police review into a cold case involving Chesham himself.

Nearly 20 years ago, one of Chesham's patients made allegations that he sexually assaulted her. The investigation at the time found no conclusive proof, but Grace soon discovers another victim and a witness whose account never reached the police. Does this mean the original investigation was bungled? Scotland Yard would certainly like her to conclude otherwise. 

As Grace uncovers the lies that led to the young doctor's murder, she discovers the full extent of the damage done to Chesham's 'special girls' - and the danger they are still in.

Author: Isabelle Grey
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-1784292850
Publisher: Quercus
Wrong Way Home

A cold case leads DI Grace Fisher on the hunt for the most dangerous killer of her career - but after 25 years, can she really be sure she will get to the truth?

The same night a local hero saved two people from the burning Marineland resort in Southend, a young woman was raped and murdered minutes from the scene of the fire, the culmination of a series of brutal rapes in the town. The killer was never found.

Twenty-five years on, new DNA techniques have blown the cold case open. DI Grace Fisher relishes the prospect of finally catching the culprit, but when the evidence doesn't point to one clear suspect, she must reconstruct the original investigation. Any suggestion that the Essex force was less than thorough at the time could alienate her colleagues and destroy her chances of reaching the truth.

Grace finds her investigation shadowed by a young true-crime podcaster backed by veteran crime reporter Ivo Sweatman. As pressure mounts she cannot afford to be distracted. She knows that a cold-blooded killer is slowly being backed into a corner, and a cornered predator is often the most dangerous of all....

Author: Isabelle Grey
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1786486509
Publisher: Quercus