Browse Authors:
  • Home
  • J
  • Stephen Mack Jones

Stephen Mack Jones books in order

Stephen Mack Jones is an American published poet, an award-winning playwright and author of mystery and thriller books.

Feted with the coveted Kresge Arts in Detroit Literary Fellowship, he is known for writing novels such as The Clush (2014), and the August Snow Series.

Based on the life of August Snow, a Detroit based African American law enforcer, the first installment of the August Snow Series won the Hammett Prize and the Nero Award.

Born in Lansing, Michigan, Stephen Mack Jones spent several years as an expert in the field of advertising and marketing communications prior to venturing into fiction writing.

The author currently resides in Farmington Hills, which is in the outskirts of Detroit.

More about Stephen Mack Jones

Genres: Mystery, Thriller

United States


Non Series

  • The Clush (2014)


  1. Now What?: The Voters Have Spoken―Essays on Life After Trump (2020)

August Snow

  1. August Snow (2017)
  2. Lives Laid Away (2019)
  3. Dead of Winter (2021)
  4. Deus X (2023)
Non Series

Detailed book overview

Non Series

The Clush

An abusive farmer ingloriously killed by a dairy cow named Big Truddy. An attractive real estate agent married to a cheating amateur rock 'n roll guitarist. 

An embittered widow who feels her only purpose in life is to sip sherry and wait for Death to knock on her ramshackle door. A son reluctantly returning to a home he'd much rather forget about. 

A young librarian with purple hair and a dark secret working in a WW II bomb warehouse-turned-library who loves Aretha Franklin and tequila. And a restaurant owner who believes the Next Big Thing in Scotland is curried haggis.

Author: Stephen Mack Jones
First Release: 2014
Ebook: B00OEK0EQC


Now What?: The Voters Have Spoken―Essays on Life After Trump

When the networks called the 2020 presidential election for Joe Biden on Saturday, November 7, 2020, people from coast to coast exhaled―and danced in the streets. This quick-turnaround volume, a collection of 38 personal essays from writers all over the country―“many of America’s most thoughtful voices,” as Jon Meacham puts it―captures the week Trump was voted out, a unique juncture in American life, and helps point toward a way forward to a nation less divided.

An eclectic lineup of contributors―from Rosanna Arquette, Susan Bro and General Wesley Clark to Keith Olbermann, Stewart O'Nan and Anthony Scaramucci―puts a year of transition into perspective, and summons the anxieties and hopes so many have for better times ahead.

Author: Stephen Mack Jones
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-0960061570
Publisher: Wellstone Books

August Snow

August Snow

Tough, smart, and struggling to stay alive, August Snow is the embodiment of Detroit. The son of an African-American father and a Mexican-American mother, August grew up in the city’s Mexicantown and joined the police force only to be drummed out by a conspiracy of corrupt cops and politicians. But August fought back; he took on the city and got himself a $12 million wrongful dismissal settlement that left him low on friends. He has just returned to the house he grew up in after a year away, and quickly learns he has many scores to settle.

It’s not long before he’s summoned to the palatial Grosse Pointe Estates home of business magnate Eleanore Paget. Powerful and manipulative, Paget wants August to investigate the increasingly unusual happenings at her private wealth management bank. But detective work is no longer August’s beat, and he declines. A day later, Paget is dead of an apparent suicide—which August isn’t buying for a minute.

What begins as an inquiry into Eleanore Paget’s death soon drags August into a rat’s nest of Detroit’s most dangerous criminals, from corporate embezzlers to tattooed mercenaries.

Author: Stephen Mack Jones
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-1616958688
Publisher: Soho Crime
Lives Laid Away

Detroit ex-cop August Snow takes up vigilante justice when his beloved neighborhood of Mexicantown is caught in the crosshairs of a human trafficking scheme.

When the body of an unidentified young Hispanic woman is dredged from the Detroit River, the Wayne County coroner gives her photo to ex-police detective August Snow, insisting August ask around his native Mexicantown to see if anyone recognizes her. August’s good friend Elena, an advocate for undocumented immigrants, immediately pinpoints the girl as local teenager Isadora del Torres. 

It turns out Izzy isn’t the only young woman to have disappeared during an ICE raid only to turn up dead a few weeks later. Preyed upon by the law itself, the people of Mexicantown have no one to turn to but August. In a guns-blazing wild ride across Detroit, he will put his own life on the line to protect the community he loves.

Author: Stephen Mack Jones
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-1641290951
Publisher: Soho Crime
Dead of Winter

A shadowy Detroit real estate billionaire. A ruthless fixer. A successful Mexicantown family business in their crosshairs. Gentrification has never been bloodier.

Authentico Foods Inc. has been a part of Detroit’s Mexicantown for over thirty years, grown from a home kitchen business to a city block–long facility that supplies Mexican tortillas to restaurants throughout the Midwest.

Detroit ex-cop and Mexicantown native August Snow has been invited for a business meeting at Authentico Foods. Its owner, Ronaldo Ochoa, is dying, and is being blackmailed into selling the company to an anonymous entity. Worried about his employees, Ochoa wants August to buy it. 

August has no interest in running a tortilla empire, but he does want to know who’s threatening his neighborhood. Quickly, his investigation takes a devastating turn and he and his loved ones find themselves ensnared in a dangerous net of ruthless billionaire developers. August Snow must fight not only for his life, but for the soul of Mexicantown itself.

Author: Stephen Mack Jones
First Release: 2021
ISBN: 978-1641293488
Publisher: Soho Crime
Deus X

Detroit ex-cop August Snow puts his life on the line to protect a friend from modern-day Templars sworn to protect the name of the Catholic church at all costs.

Father Michael Grabowski, a Franciscan priest who has tended the spiritual needs of Detroit’s Mexicantown for forty years, has suddenly retired. August Snow, who has known the priest his whole life, finds the circumstances troubling—especially in light of the recent suspicious suicide of another local priest. What dark history is Father Grabowski hiding?

The situation takes a turn for the deadly with the appearance at the Detroit diocese of a mysterious priest and combat vet calling himself Francis Dominioni Petra. The man comes from the Vatican, and as his armored guard circles closer and closer to Father Grabowski and his friends, August wants to know why. 

A terrible crime has been committed in the name of faith—but who is seeking justice, and who is trying to bury the truth and any of its witnesses? August grapples with his own ideas about his faith and his chosen family in this action-packed fourth installment in the Hammett Prize–winning series.

Author: Stephen Mack Jones
First Release: 2023
Ebook: B0BV5BN5RF
Publisher: Soho Crime