Browse Authors:
  • Home
  • L
  • Melissa Lenhardt

Melissa Lenhardt books in order

Melissa Lenhardt is an American author of women’s fiction, mystery, historical fiction, and gay novels.

Whenever she isn’t writing, Melissa can be found eating Nutella or peanut butter straight out of the jar, if not thinking about writing.

She resides in Texas.

More about Melissa Lenhardt

Genres: Gay and Lesbian, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Women's Fiction

United States


Non Series

  • Heresy (2018)
  • The Secret of You and Me (2020)

Jack McBride Mystery Series

  1. Stillwater (2015)
  2. The Fisher King (2016)

Sawbones Trilogy/Laura Elliston Series

  1. Sawbones (2016)
  2. Blood Oath (2017)
  3. Badlands (2017)
Jack McBride Mystery Series
Sawbones Trilogy/Laura Elliston Series

Detailed book overview

Non Series


Margaret Parker and Hattie LaCour became outlaws after they were hounded out of their ranch by a gluttonous cattleman.

They didn’t have many options, given the fact that they are women.

It had to be marriage, selling their bodies for money, or using the gun to get what they didn’t have.

Making that choice wasn’t hard for them.

Using their tiny improvised family, they conduct a chain of robberies in the West.

Although the press declines to acknowledge the female gang, news of their plunder spreads like wildfire.

Hunted by Pinkertons and an opposing male gang, Margaret and Hattie must protect their family, complete one final assignment, and avoid execution.

Author: Melissa Lenhardt
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-0316435352
Publisher: Redhook
The Secret of You and Me

Nora found true freedom after she ran away from her temperamental father and her tiny conservative hometown in Texas.

Forced to return home after a tragedy, she comes face-to-face with the one woman that she has never gotten out of her mind.

A lovely daughter, an accomplished husband and a fulfilling career, Sophie seems to have it all.

Behind the mask of perfection however lies a dark secret. Although many years have passed, Sophie has never been able to forget about Nora—her closest friend and first love.

So when they cross paths once again, their feelings are rekindled.

Will their forbidden passion however survive the brazen intolerance?

Author: Melissa Lenhardt
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-1848458086
Publisher: Mills & Boon

Jack McBride Mystery Series


Ex-FBI agent Jack McBride moved to Stillwater, Texas, with his teenage son in an effort to make a fresh start following the mysterious disappearance of his wife.

Now the Chief of Police of the sleepy town with five cops and barely any crime, he expects it to be a smooth ride—until a seemingly rehearsed murder-suicide takes place.

While looking into the case, Jack ends up unearthing a skeleton in the forest that has been hidden for decades.

Pairing up with Ellie Martin, the two launch investigations into the cases, ultimately falling for each other in the process--against the wishes of everyone.

Connections between the two crimes committed decades apart will shock the entire town.

Author: Melissa Lenhardt
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-1510719828
Publisher: Skyhorse
The Fisher King

Jack McBride’s life has become a nightmare: solving his first case as the police chief has ignited an extensive drug war in the county; his brother Eddie has come with nothing but trouble; his alienated wife has suddenly surfaced after a year; and Ellie Martin has ended things between them.

With locals blaming the high crime rate on their new police chief, Ellie finds herself competing against accomplished businessman Joe Doyle, for city council.

Doyle is however part of everything that’s wrong with the county.

The intrigue intensifies when the body count increases and the drug war skies to a whole new level.

Is Stillwater really worth saving?

Author: Melissa Lenhardt
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1510737471
Publisher: Skyhorse

Sawbones Trilogy/Laura Elliston Series


When Dr. Catherine Bennett is framed for murder, she knows that she is never going to make it out alive.

Determined to avoid execution, she is forced to run away from her home.

With a lucrative prize on her head, she takes off, along with her maid, to the Colorado wilds in an effort to make a fresh start under a new identity.

Although rumors of a female murderer is nothing new in New York, Catherine's new identity suits her perfectly, as she works as a temporary army doctor.

However, in a mysterious land which is vast and tiny at the same time, a female doctor can’t hide forever…

Author: Melissa Lenhardt
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-0316505390
Publisher: Redhook
Blood Oath

Laura Elliston and William Kindle are fugitives.

The two are quite literally running for their lives in an effort to avoid being captured by the Army, and every other criminal in the West determined to capture Laura and claim the generous bounty of $500 for themselves.

However, being pursued isn’t the only thing that Laura and Kindle need to be worried about.

The two also have their fair share of demons that they need to face, on top of confronting a past that just won’t stay buried.

Weary, terrified, and wounded with nowhere to run, their nightmare has only just begun…

Author: Melissa Lenhardt
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-0316505383
Publisher: Redhook

Things are as bad as they can get for Laura Elliston.

She is once again forced to run for her life following the capture of William Kindle.

Should she be apprehended, she will be immediately executed in New York.

However, as far as Laura is concerned, death is the least of her worries.

With nowhere to run and nowhere to hide, could this be the time for Dr. Catherine Bennett to confront her past.

Author: Melissa Lenhardt
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-0316505376
Publisher: Redhook