Browse Authors:
  • Home
  • M
  • Clare Mackintosh

Clare Mackintosh books in order

Clare Mackintosh is a British New York Times bestselling and multi-award-winning author of mystery, suspense, thriller and non-fiction novels.

Born in Bristol, England, she studied French and Management at the Royal Holloway University in Surrey, before joining the police force after graduating.

Her books, which have been published into over 35 languages, have sold well over two million copies across the globe.

Clare currently resides in North Wales with her husband and their three children.

More about Clare Mackintosh

Genres: Mystery, Non-fiction, Suspense, Thriller

Born: 1976

United Kingdom


Non Series

  • I Let You Go (2014)
  • I See You (2017)
  • Let Me Lie (2018)
  • After the End (2019)
  • Hostage (2021)


  1. A Cotswold Family Life (2019)


  1. The Donor (2020)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

I Let You Go

Jenna Gray’s world is turned upside down in an instant.

Determined to run away from her past, she leaves everything behind and relocates to an isolated cottage on the coast of Wales, in an effort to forget about the terrible events of that tragic night in November.

Assigned to a case, DI Ray Stevens is on a quest to deliver justice to a mother who is undergoing what no parent should ever go through.

His resolve to solve the case however starts affecting his personal and professional life.

As he and his team work tirelessly, Jenna starts believing that her future could be promising—unaware that her past is about to show its devastating face.

Author: Clare Mackintosh
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-1101987506
Publisher: Berkley
I See You

Zoe Walker has a very routine life that involves using the same route to the train station twice a day.

What she doesn’t know is that somebody is following her every step.

While heading home one evening, Zoe is puzzled when she sees a blurry picture of herself, and her phone number, on the classifieds section of a local newspaper.

Although her loved ones believe that the image on the Ad belongs to someone who looks like her, Zoe finds herself with more questions than answers when pictures of different women are shown in the ensuing days.

Is this a mere coincidence? Or is someone stalking them?

Author: Clare Mackintosh
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-1101988305
Publisher: Berkley
Let Me Lie

Caroline Johnson took her own life a year ago.

The plan was well executed, so much that it matched that of her husband months earlier.

The cops have every reason to believe that it was suicide. Anna, their daughter, believes that it was murder.

Neither of them is right…

Now with a child of her own, Anna terribly misses her mom.

This prompts her to start posing serious questions about the demise of her parents, bringing up memories from her tragic past.

Could asking about her past however threaten the safety of her family?

Sometimes, the past should just remain buried.

Author: Clare Mackintosh
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-0751564884
Publisher: Sphere
After the End

Couples don’t come any stronger than Max and Pip.

The two are not only partners, but also the closest of friends.

The only problem is that when confronted by the most life-changing choice of their lives, one that involves the future of their ailing son, the two fail to reach an agreement.

Things will never be the same again for the couple, given how the ramification of a seemingly tough decision threatens to destroy them both.

But could they possibly have both?

This is a moving and explosive book about love, marriage, parenthood, unthinkable loss and redemption.

Author: Clare Mackintosh
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-0451490575
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons

The excitement is palpable aboard the maiden non-stop flight from London to Sydney.

Among those believed to be on board are celebrities, with journalists expected to greet them at their destination.

Flight attendant Mina is also on the historical journey.

She is determined to perform her assignment to the fullest, despite the fact that she is worried about her troubled five-year-old daughter, who is back at home, and her marriage which is on the rocks.

However, right before the start of the journey, Mina receives an eerie message from an anonymous passenger.

The plane will take off, but it may never land.

The next twenty hours will be decisive.

Author: Clare Mackintosh
First Release: 2021
ISBN: 978-0751577082
Publisher: Sphere


A Cotswold Family Life

The Cotswolds has always had a special place in Clare Mackintosh’s heart.

According to the author, they stole her heart way before she ever came across them.

It’s a tranquil place full of greenery, where the road twists and turns between dry stone walls and from one town to another.

Clare spent nearly a decade writing about life in the Cotswolds—the challenges and triumphs of living in the rural area with a young family.

This exclusive memoir explores a wide range of stories, from rearing chicken to getting the WI drunk, among others.

This is the story of Clare’s family life, complete with a healthy dose of humor.

Author: Clare Mackintosh
First Release: 2019
ISBN: 978-0751575576
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group


The Donor

 “She may have given you the world. But in this life, everything has a price.”

When Meg, Lizzie's daughter, undergoes a life-saving heart transplant, Lizzie can’t help but feel indebted to the anonymous donor.

So when she receives a letter from Karen, the mother of the donor, who requests to meet, Lizzie doesn’t give it a second thought.

Everything however changes the moment they meet Karen.

Something terribly feels out of place.

Soon afterwards, Lizzie can’t help but be concerned that the presence of Karen could endanger the safety of her daughter.

Author: Clare Mackintosh
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-0751576504
Publisher: Sphere