Browse Authors:

Linda Nichols books in order

Linda Nichols is an American author of romance and inspirational novels.

She is known for writing books such as At the Scent of Water (2004) and If I Gained the World (2003), which form part of the Second Chances Collection.

An alumna of the University of Washington, Linda possesses the distinctive skill of crafting stories that profoundly resonate with readers.

The author currently lives with her family in Tacoma, Washington.

More about Linda Nichols

Genres: Inspirational, Romance

Born: 1954

United States

Non Series

  • Handyman (2000)

Second Chances Collection

  1. Not a Sparrow Falls (2002)
  2. In Search of Eden (2007)
  3. At the Scent of Water (2004)
  4. If I Gained the World (2003)
Non Series

Detailed book overview

Non Series


Maggie Ivey is about to make the best mistake of her life.

A struggling twenty-six-year-old single mom, Maggie Ivey is just trying to keep it all together. She's got a lecherous boss, a dead-end job, and a worried mother who just wants her to move back home to Georgia. Maggie's prospects look dim, until a friend signs her up for the famous Dr. Jason Golding's 21-Day Overhaul. The first session seems to go perfectly. Dr. Golding is warm, sensitive, and a terrific listener. There's only one problem: The handsome man in Dr. Golding's chair isn't Dr. Golding. 

In fact, he's not even a therapist; he's Jake Cooper, a contractor hired to remodel the office. But all Maggie knows is that talking to him helps her feel better. And Jake doesn't quite know how to let Maggie in on the secret. Will he eventually confess to his ruse? Will she discover the truth on her own? And the most important question of all: Can a Handyman fix a broken heart?

Author: Linda Nichols
First Release: 2000
ISBN: 978-0440235422
Publisher: Island Books

Second Chances Collection

Not a Sparrow Falls

In this powerful story of redemption and love, a prodigal young woman from the hills of Virginia flees the men who have lured her away from a godly upbringing into a life of desperation. Taking on a new identity, Mary Bridget Washburn escapes to the bustling city of Alexandria. There her path crosses that of Alasdair MacPherson, a widowed pastor with three young children and daunting problems of his own. 

Mary Bridget longs to bring happiness to the deeply troubled family, but she seems an unlikely candidate to help. Has she fallen too far from grace to be able to pass it on? A heart-tugging tale about the extraordinary struggles that turn ordinary people into heroes.

Author: Linda Nichols
First Release: 2002
ISBN: 978-0764227271
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
In Search of Eden

A girl who has never been able to settle down, Miranda begins various adventures, but whenever reality begins to tarnish her dreams, she gives up. As she approaches her twenty-seventh birthday, she determines to reinvent her life. But there's one loose end to tie down first...

Joseph Williams, the chief of police in Abingdon, Virginia, always tries to do what is right, to perform his duty and protect those he loves. He becomes suspicious of the new woman in town, and after checking further, he discovers she has no history. Then he finds a baby picture of his niece in her possession...

Author: Linda Nichols
First Release: 2007
ISBN: 978-0764201677
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
At the Scent of Water

Life is rewarding for Samuel Truelove. He's a gifted surgeon, he's married to the love of his life, and he has a beautiful daughter. But when he's called to perform an emergency surgery, a deadly cascade of events is set in motion, and his picture-perfect life begins to unravel....

Annie Truelove, hoping to escape painful reminders of her grief, leaves her beloved home in the mountains of North Carolina and begins a new life in faraway Seattle. But a disturbing headline takes her back home, where memories of both joy and sorrow come flooding back. What will it take to heal two broken hearts?

Author: Linda Nichols
First Release: 2004
ISBN: 978-0764227295
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
If I Gained the World

When the pain of loss shatters two people--one from the inside out and the other from the outside in--how do they find their way to faithfulness, grace, and love? Only over time and distance will they eventually discover that it is through turning to the One who is faithful, whose love never fails. 

Lenore and Daniel have a cozy home and a wonderful son, a mirror image of his father. Lenore loves her life and wants nothing to change--except for one thing. As innocent as it seems, her request is the beginning of the end, and their life together unravels. Lenore takes little Scottie and begins her quest for meaning, purpose, and a new start--as far away from those bittersweet memories as she can get...

Author: Linda Nichols
First Release: 2003
ISBN: 978-0764227288
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers