Browse Authors:
  • Home
  • O
  • Louise O’Neill

Louise O’Neill books in order

Louise O’Neill is an Irish author of young adult fiction.

A native of Clonakilty, west Cork, Ireland, she attended Trinity College Dublin where she earned her BA in English Studies, and DIT where she completed her postgraduate studies in Fashion Buying.

Afterwards, Louise moved to New York City where she spent a year working for Kate Lanphear, the senior Style Director of ELLE magazine.

Upon returning to Ireland, she made her debut as a novelist with Only Ever Yours (2014).

The recipient of numerous recognitions, including the Children's Books Ireland Eilís Dillon Award for a First Children's Book; and The Bookseller's inaugural YA Book Prize 2015, Louise will always choose writing in her pajamas over hanging out on set with A-list celebrities.

More about Louise O’Neill

Genres: Fiction, Young Adult

Born: 1985


Non Series

  • Only Ever Yours (2014)
  • Asking For It (2015)
  • Almost Love (2018)
  • The Surface Breaks (2018)
  • After the Silence (2020)
  • Idol (2022)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

Only Ever Yours

eves are designed, not made.

The School trains them to be pretty

The School trains them to be good.

The School trains them to Always be Willing.

All their lives, the eves have been waiting. Now, they are ready for the outside world.

companion . . . concubine . . . or chastity

Only the best will be chosen.

And only the Men decide.

Author: Louise O’Neill
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-1784294007
Publisher: Quercus
Asking For It

Emma O'Donovan is eighteen, beautiful, and fearless. It's the beginning of summer in a quiet Irish town and tonight she and her friends have dressed to impress. Everyone is at the party, and all eyes are on Emma.

The next morning Emma's parents discover her collapsed on the doorstop of their home, unconscious. She is disheveled, bleeding, and disoriented, looking as if she had been dumped there.

To her distress, Emma can't remember what happened the night before. All she knows is that none of her friends will respond to her texts. At school, people turn away from her and whisper under their breath. Her mind may be a blank as far as the events of the previous evening, but someone has posted photos of it on Facebook under a fake account, "Easy Emma"--photos she will never be able to forget.

As the photos go viral and a criminal investigation is launched, the community is thrown into tumult. The media descends, neighbors chose sides, and people from all over the world want to talk about her story. Everyone has something to say about Emma.

Author: Louise O’Neill
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-1784293208
Publisher: Quercus
Almost Love

When Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.

So it doesn't matter that he's twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she's sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him.

Sarah's friends are worried. Her father can't understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she's on the verge of losing her job.

But Sarah can't help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew.

And love is supposed to hurt.

Isn't it?

Author: Louise O’Neill
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1784298883
Publisher: Hachette Books
The Surface Breaks

Deep beneath the sea, off the cold Irish coast, Gaia is a young mermaid who dreams of freedom from her controlling father. On her first swim to the surface, she is drawn towards a human boy. She longs to join his carefree world, but how much will she have to sacrifice? What will it take for the little mermaid to find her voice? 

Hans Christian Andersen's original fairy tale is reimagined through a searing feminist lens, with the stunning, scalpel-sharp writing and world building that has won Louise her legions of devoted fans in the UK.

Author: Louise O’Neill
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1407180410
Publisher: Scholastic Press
After the Silence

Nessa Crowley's murderer has been protected by silence for ten years.

Until a team of documentary makers decide to find out the truth.

On the day of Henry and Keelin Kinsella's wild party at their big house a violent storm engulfed the island of Inisrun, cutting it off from the mainland. When morning broke Nessa Crowley's lifeless body lay in the garden, her last breath silenced by the music and the thunder.

The killer couldn't have escaped Inisrun, but no-one was charged with the murder. The mystery that surrounded the death of Nessa remained hidden. But the islanders knew who to blame for the crime that changed them forever.

Ten years later a documentary crew arrives, there to lift the lid off the Kinsella's carefully constructed lives, determined to find evidence that will prove Henry's guilt and Keelin's complicity in the murder of beautiful Nessa.

Author: Louise O’Neill
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-1784298920
Publisher: Hachette Books

'Follow your heart, and speak your truth.'

For Samantha Miller's young fans—her 'girls'—she's everything they want to be. She's an oracle, telling them how to live their lives, how to be happy, how to find and honour their 'truth'.

And her career is booming: she's just hit three million followers, her new book Chaste has gone straight to the top of the best-seller lists and she's appearing at sell-out events.

Determined to speak her truth and bare all to her adoring fans, she's written an essay about her sexual awakening as a teenager, with her female best friend, Lisa. She's never told a soul, but now she's telling the world. The essay goes viral.

But then—years since they last spoke—Lisa gets in touch to say that she doesn't remember it that way at all. Her memory of that night is far darker. It's Sam's word against Lisa's—so who gets to tell the story? Whose 'truth' is really a lie?

'You put yourself on that pedestal, Samantha. You only have yourself to blame.'

Author: Louise O’Neill
First Release: 2022
ISBN: 978-1787635333
Publisher: Bantam Press