Browse Authors:

M.S Olney books in order

Matthew Olney is an English author of fantasy, science fiction and historical fiction novels.

Working as a copywriter by day and pursuing his passion of writing novels by night, Matthew currently lives in Worcester with his wife Chloe.

More about M.S Olney

Genres: Fantasy / SF, Historical Fiction

United Kingdom


The Empowered Ones

  1. The First Fear (2018)
  2. The Temple of Arrival (2020)

The Sundered Crown Saga

  1. Heir to the Sundered Crown (2014)
  2. War for the Sundered Crown (2015)
  3. Quest for the Sundered Crown (2017)
  4. Voyage for the Sundered Crown (2020)


  1. Blood of Kings (2013)

Detailed book overview

The Empowered Ones

The First Fear

She has for years without number ruled with an iron fist.

Her servants, the Venerable Chamber and her feared Hollowed, haunt anyone with the Power to challenge her.

Once, The Empowered Ones defeated the dark forces. But now, only a few of them remain.

Not all hope is however lost, as a young man named Elian learns that he wields the Power that could result in terrible consequences to him and his family.

Forced to run away from The First Fear, the Supreme’s most lethal agent, he crosses paths with a group of renegades known as the Liberators and a group of Gifted led by the charming Empowered One, Vavius.

Will Elian harness his newfound abilities and defeat the Supreme? Or will he pay the ultimate price?

Author: M.S Olney
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1981001132
Publisher: Independently published
The Temple of Arrival

The defiant stand by the Liberators at the city of Asta has triggered fiery resistance amongst the oppressed.

Slaves, serfs and even members of the aristocracy have stood up against the cruel regime, joining the Liberator banner.

As chaos spreads across the world, the Supreme is determined to destroy Elian now more than ever.

Haunted by the Hollowed and Venerable Chamber Seekers while still struggling to come to terms with his mentor’s betrayal, Elian’s only hope lies in an enigmatic Empowered One whom he can’t trust.

Futhermore, a devastating secret awaits him.

Author: M.S Olney
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 979-8605827924
Publisher: Independently published

The Sundered Crown Saga

Heir to the Sundered Crown

Terror reigns supreme in the Kingdom of Delfinnia after assassins butcher the king and his family.

The barons battle amongst themselves for the crown; unaware of the fact that one heir still lives.

As the civil war devastates the land, horrors previously thought destroyed return to haunt the kingdom.

Meanwhile in Calradia, one young man named Luxon discovers his powers.

The first wizard for a century, he is the hero destined to give the kingdom its greatest king.

Joining forces with the legendary monster slayer, Ferran of BlackMoor, Witch Hunter Sophia Cunning and the noble Knight of Niveren, Kaiden of the Marble shore, Luxon confronts dangerous monsters, assassins, and the feared servants of the dark lord Danon.

Author: M.S Olney
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-1519484192
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
War for the Sundered Crown

Attaining peace in the Kingdom of Delfinnia has been a challenge, despite the fact that it has been five years since the Battle of Eclin.

Fell Beasts cause torment in the countryside, dragons ambush the Westerlands, while mysterious ships sighted off the coast cause restlessness.

Still desperately searching for his mother, Luxon Edioz sets off on a journey to Stormglade, a city at the edge of the Great Plains; one that is rife with monsters and dangerous tribal warriors.

There he will learn that the dark lord Danon, who was defeated at Eclin, has been assembling a vicious army with nothing but vengeance in his heart.

Author: M.S Olney
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-1519484260
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Quest for the Sundered Crown

Danon's vast army terrorizes the Kingdom of Delfinnia.

The only one capable of bringing an end to the destruction is Luxon, who is on a determined quest to find a cure for the lethal Void Sickness that threatens his life.

As he travels through the Magic Gates in search of the Waters of Magic, he is sent through time and new worlds where he learns devastating truths about Danon and another figure he considers a friend and mentor.

Meanwhile, dragons destroy the eastern lands while Danon's hordes terrorize the south.

With hope remaining ever so elusive, claiming the legendary sacred sword Asphodel could be the only salvation.

Author: M.S Olney
First Release: 2017
ISBN: 978-1521959817
Publisher: Independently published
Voyage for the Sundered Crown

“The Kingdom of Delfinnia is on its knees. Hope however remains.”

While on an audacious voyage in a bid to get allies from across the sea the wizard, Luxon Edioz and his compatriots come across the continent of Tulin; a land that is never short of dangers, magic, and adventure.

As Danon draws closer to completing his conquest, Luxon must do everything in his might to unify the peoples of Tulin and persuade them to help him fight for his homeland.

This is one voyage that will put him to the ultimate test and seal the fate of everyone.

Author: M.S Olney
First Release: 2020
Ebook: B08DVFN9PJ
Publisher: Independently published


Blood of Kings

“One last epic battle between Saxons and Vikings!”

As the kingdom draws on the edge of total mayhem, King Edward the Confessor passes away without an heir.

This single historic tragedy triggers a series of events that will see three of the most powerful men in Europe get embroiled in a vicious battle for the crown of Saxon England—arguably the greatest prize in Christendom.

Rebellion, war, love and loss will present Osfrid Hunweldsen with the ultimate test of strength and faith.

Will the noble succeed in fighting to save his family from the hands of oppressors and the imminent invasion of the kingdom?

The year is 1066. The blood of Kings will be shed.

Author: M.S Olney
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-1291479904