Browse Authors:

Michael Sears books in order

Michael Sears is an American award-winning author of mystery and financial thrillers.

He is known for writing novels such as Black Fridays (2012), his bestseller debut novel which clinched the Shamus Award, and Mortal Bonds (2013), his second novel which received the Silver Falchion at Killer Nashville.

Prior to 2005, Sears served as a Managing Director at two distinct Wall Street firms, where he dedicated two decades of his professional life to the bond market, having spent the early part of his career in foreign exchange and derivatives.

In addition to his pursuits, Sears was also a professional actor for a while before deciding to return to Columbia University to pursue his MBA.

During those eight years in acting, he made appearances at the Shakespeare Theatre of Washington (Folger Theatre), Playwright's Theater of Washington, New Jersey Shakespeare Festival, and many more.

Sears is married to artist and poet Barbara Segal, and together they live in Sea Cliff, New York, alongside a cat named Penelope.

More about Michael Sears

Genres: Mystery, Thriller

United States


Jason Stafford

  1. Black Fridays (2012)
  2. Mortal Bonds (2013)
  3. Long Way Down (2015)
  4. Saving Jason (2016)

Queens Mystery

  1. Tower of Babel (2021)
Queens Mystery

Detailed book overview

Jason Stafford

Black Fridays

After two years in federal prison, Jason Stafford is no longer welcome on Wall Street. But due to his financial crime expertise, one firm wants him to quietly look for irregularities in the books of one of their junior traders, whose body was just pulled from the Long Island Sound.

Raising an autistic five-year-old alone, Stafford can’t refuse the lucrative offer. The job is supposed to last two weeks, tops. But soon he’s facing threats and intimidation, and more people are dying. Stafford must fight for his life—while struggling to save his son from a different kind of danger…

Author: Michael Sears
First Release: 2012
ISBN: 978-0425269046
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Mortal Bonds

William von Becker’s multibillion-dollar fund was limited to only the luckiest investors. Or so they thought.

After the house of cards collapses and the disgraced von Becker commits suicide in prison, his family asks Jason Stafford to find out where the money is—and who is targeting them with attempted kidnappings. There are plenty of angry suspects to take a look at. 

But with roughly three billion of von Becker’s ill-gotten dollars floating around somewhere, there are other interested parties as well. They’re determined. They’re powerful. And they’re not nearly as polite as the Feds…

Author: Michael Sears
First Release: 2013
ISBN: 978-0425270905
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Long Way Down

Two years in a federal prison has changed Jason Stafford, but one thing it has taught him as a financial investigator is how to detect a lie. Though Philip Haley has been indicted for insider trading on his own company, Stafford believes him when he says he’s been set up. It does make him dangerous to be around, though. The deeper Stafford investigates, the more secrets he uncovers . . . secrets people would kill for.

Author: Michael Sears
First Release: 2015
ISBN: 978-0425276532
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Saving Jason

Jason Stafford used to be a hot Wall Street trader, went too far, and paid for it in prison. Now a financial investigator, he’s been asked to look into rumors of a hostile takeover of his firm, but he has no idea it will turn his whole life upside down. 

Suddenly embroiled in a grand jury investigation of Mob-related activities on Wall Street, and threatened by some very serious men, he is thrust into witness protection with his young autistic son. And then his son disappears. 

Has he been kidnapped, or worse? With no choice but to act, Stafford has no choice but to come out of hiding and risk everything to save his son, his firm, his pregnant girlfriend—and himself.

Author: Michael Sears
First Release: 2016
Ebook: B00XVB9BT6
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons

Queens Mystery

Tower of Babel

Queens, New York—the most diverse place on earth. Native son Ted Molloy knows these streets like the back of his hand. Ted was once a high-powered Manhattan lawyer, but after a spectacular fall from grace, he has found himself back on his home turf, scraping by as a foreclosure profiteer. It’s a grubby business, but a safe one—until Ted’s case sourcer, a mostly reformed small-time conman named Richie Rubiano, turns up murdered shortly after tipping Ted off to an improbably lucrative lead.

With Richie’s widow on his back and shadows of the past popping up at every turn, Ted realizes he’s gotten himself embroiled in a murder investigation. His quest for the truth will take him all over Queens, plunging him into the machinations of greedy developers, mobsters, enraged activists, old litigator foes and old-school New York City operators.

Author: Michael Sears
First Release: 2021
ISBN: 978-1641292627
Publisher: Soho Crime