Browse Authors:

Tom Rob Smith books in order

Tom Rob Smith is a British award-winning screenwriter, producer, and multi award-winning author of historical mystery, historical thrillers, fantasy and political thrillers.

He is best known for writing the international bestselling Child 44 trilogy, which was named among the top one hundred thrillers of all time.

Born in London, England, he attended St John's College, Cambridge University, where he studied English Literature.

A passionate writer gifted with exceptional storytelling abilities, Tom Rob made his debut as a novelist aged 26 with Child 44 (2008).

The novel received critical acclaim and went on to be adapted into a 2015 film by the same name. It has since been translated into more than 35 languages, selling millions of copies across the globe.

Besides being a novelist, Tom is also an accomplished screenwriter. His scripts for the limited series, American Crime Story: The Assassination of Gianni Versace (FX), was feted with an Emmy and a Golden Globe Award.

More about Tom Rob Smith

Genres: Fantasy / SF, Historical Mystery, Historical Thriller, Mystery, Political Thriller, Thriller

Born: 1979

United Kingdom


Non Series

  • The Farm (2014)
  • London Spy (2016)
  • Cold People (2023)

Leo Demidov

  1. Child 44 (2008)
  2. The Secret Speech (2009)
  3. Agent 6 (2011)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

The Farm

If you refuse to believe me, I will no longer consider you my son.

Daniel believed that his parents were enjoying a peaceful retirement on a remote farm in Sweden. But with a single phone call, everything changes.

Your mother...she's not well, his father tells him. She's been imagining things - terrible, terrible things. She's had a psychotic breakdown, and been committed to a mental hospital.

Before Daniel can board a plane to Sweden, his mother calls: Everything that man has told you is a lie. I'm not mad... I need the police... Meet me at Heathrow.

Caught between his parents, and unsure of who to believe or trust, Daniel becomes his mother's unwilling judge and jury as she tells him an urgent tale of secrets, of lies, of a crime and a conspiracy that implicates his own father.

Author: Tom Rob Smith
First Release: 2014
ISBN: 978-1455551064
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
London Spy

A gripping and emotional contemporary thriller about an unexpected romance between two people from very different worlds: one from the high-powered ranks of investment banking and the other from a hard partying world of clubbing and youthful excess.

Danny—gregarious, hedonistic, and romantic—falls in love with the enigmatic and brilliant Alex. Then Alex disappears. When Danny finds Alex’s body, he is forced to pursue the truth behind his death. This volume of complete scripts is a brilliant companion to the award-winning BBC series.

Author: Tom Rob Smith
First Release: 2016
ISBN: 978-1471159435
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Cold People

The world has fallen. Without warning, a mysterious and omnipotent force has claimed the planet for their own. There are no negotiations, no demands, no reasons given for their actions. All they have is a message: humanity has thirty days to reach the one place on Earth where they will be allowed to exist…Antarctica.

Cold People follows the perilous journeys of a handful of those who endure the frantic exodus to the most extreme environment on the planet. But their goal is not merely to survive the present. Because as they cling to life on the ice, the remnants of their past swept away, they must also confront the urgent challenge: can they change and evolve rapidly enough to ensure humanity’s future? Can they build a new society in the sub-zero cold?

Author: Tom Rob Smith
First Release: 2023
ISBN: 978-1471133114
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK

Leo Demidov

Child 44

In a country ruled by fear, no one is innocent.

Stalin's Soviet Union is an official paradise, where citizens live free from crime and fear only one thing: the all-powerful state. Defending this system is idealistic security officer Leo Demidov, a war hero who believes in the iron fist of the law. But when a murderer starts to kill at will and Leo dares to investigate, the State's obedient servant finds himself demoted and exiled. Now, with only his wife at his side, Leo must fight to uncover shocking truths about a killer-and a country where "crime" doesn't exist.

Child 44
Director: Daniel Espinosa
Cast: Xavier Atkins, Mark Lewis Jones, Tom Hardy, Joel Kinnaman, Fares Fares, Karel Dobrý, Noomi Rapace, Agnieszka Grochowska, Petr Vanek, Jana Stryková, Jason Clarke
Author: Tom Rob Smith
First Release: 2008
ISBN: 978-0446572767
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
The Secret Speech

Soviet Union, 1956. Stalin is dead, and a violent regime is beginning to fracture-leaving behind a society where the police are the criminals, and the criminals are innocent. A secret speech composed by Stalin's successor Khrushchev is distributed to the entire nation. Its message: Stalin was a tyrant. Its promise: The Soviet Union will change.

Facing his own personal turmoil, former state security officer Leo Demidov is also struggling to change. The two young girls he and his wife Raisa adopted have yet to forgive him for his part in the death of their parents. They are not alone. Now that the truth is out, Leo, Raisa, and their family are in grave danger from someone consumed by the dark legacy of Leo's past career. Someone transformed beyond recognition into the perfect model of vengeance.

Author: Tom Rob Smith
First Release: 2009
ISBN: 978-0446402415
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Agent 6

Leo Demidov is no longer a member of Moscow's secret police. But when his wife, Raisa, and daughters Zoya and Elena are invited on a "Peace Tour" to New York City, he is immediately suspicious.

Forbidden to travel with his family and trapped on the other side of the world, Leo watches helplessly as events in New York unfold and those closest to his heart are pulled into a web of political conspiracy and betrayal-one that will end in tragedy.

In the horrible aftermath, Leo demands only one thing: to investigate the killer who destroyed his family. His request is summarily denied. Crippled by grief and haunted by the need to find out exactly what happened on that night in New York, Leo takes matters into his own hands. 

It is a quest that will span decades, and take Leo around the world--from Moscow, to the mountains of Soviet-controlled Afghanistan, to the backstreets of New York--in pursuit of the one man who knows the truth: Agent 6.

Author: Tom Rob Smith
First Release: 2011
ISBN: 978-0446583084
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing