Browse Authors:

Stuart Turton books in order

Stuart Turton is a British freelance journalist and award-winning author of historical mystery novels.

He is best known for writing the international bestselling The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle (2018).

Born and raised in Widnes, England, Stuart earned his BA (Hons) in English and Philosophy from The University of Liverpool before working as a teacher in Shanghai for a year.

He has also worked as a journalist in London and Dubai.

Stuart made his debut as a novelist in 2018 with The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, which was the recipient of a Costa Book Award.

The book has since been sold in 28 languages.

More about Stuart Turton

Genres: Historical Mystery, Mystery

United Kingdom

Non Series

  • The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle (2018)
  • The Devil and the Dark Water (2020)


  1. The Winter Spirits (2023)

Detailed book overview

Non Series

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

Aiden Bishop knows the rules. Evelyn Hardcastle will die every day until he can identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up in the body of a different guest at Blackheath Manor. And some of his hosts are more helpful than others. With a locked-room mystery that Agatha Christie would envy, Stuart Turton unfurls a breakneck novel of intrigue and suspense.

The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a breathlessly addictive mystery that follows one man's race to find a killer, with an astonishing time-turning twist that means nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

NB: This book is also known as The 7 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

Author: Stuart Turton
First Release: 2018
ISBN: 978-1492670124
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
The Devil and the Dark Water

A murder on the high seas. A remarkable detective duo. A demon who may or may not exist.

It's 1634, and Samuel Pipps, the world's greatest detective, is being transported to Amsterdam to be executed for a crime he may, or may not, have committed. Traveling with him is his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, who is determined to prove his friend innocent. Among the other guests is Sara Wessel, a noblewoman with a secret.

But no sooner is their ship out to sea than devilry begins to blight the voyage. A strange symbol appears on the sail. A dead leper stalks the decks. Livestock dies in the night.

And then the passengers hear a terrible voice, whispering to them in the darkness, promising three unholy miracles, followed by a slaughter. First an impossible pursuit. Second an impossible theft. And third an impossible murder.

Could a demon be responsible for their misfortunes?

With Pipps imprisoned, only Arent and Sara can solve a mystery that stretches back into their past and now threatens to sink the ship, killing everybody on board.

Author: Stuart Turton
First Release: 2020
ISBN: 978-1728234298
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark


The Winter Spirits

Featuring new and original stories from:

Bridget Collins

Imogen Hermes Gowar

Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Andrew Michael Hurley

Jess Kidd

Natasha Pulley

Elizabeth Macneal

Laura Purcell

Susan Stokes Chapman

Laura Shepherd-Robinson

Stuart Turton

Catriona Ward

The tradition of a haunted tale at Christmas has flourished across the centuries. These twelve stories - authored by some of today's most loved and lauded authors of historical and gothic fiction - are all centered around Christmas or Advent, boldly and playfully re-imagining a beloved tradition for a modern audience.

Taking you from a haunted Tuscan villa to a remote Scottish island with a dark secret, and drawing inspiration from festive traditions from all around the globe, these vibrant haunted stories are your ultimate companion for frosty nights.

So curl up, light a candle, and fall under the spell of Christmases past...

Author: Stuart Turton
First Release: 2023
Publisher: Sphere