Browse Authors:
  • Home
  • W
  • Hannah F. Whitten

Hannah F. Whitten books in order

Hannah F. Whitten is an author of dark fantasy and romantic fantasy novels.

She is known for writing The Wilderwood Series and The Nightshade Kingdom Books.

An avid storyteller who began her writing journey from the moment she could hold a pen, it was while in high school that she realized that what brought her joy could potentially entertain others as well.

Whenever she isn't writing, Hannah can be found reading, making music, or making futile attempts to bake.

Hannah currently resides in an old Tennessee farmhouse with her husband, children, two cats, and some pets.

She‘s almost certain that the house is haunted.

More about Hannah F. Whitten

Genres: Dark Fiction, Fantasy Romance, Fiction

United States



  1. Gathering Dark, The: An Anthology of Folk Horror (2022)

The Nightshade Kingdom Books

  1. The Foxglove King (2023)
  2. The Hemlock Queen (2024)

The Wilderwood

  1. For the Wolf (2021)
  2. For the Throne (2022)
The Nightshade Kingdom Books

Detailed book overview


Gathering Dark, The: An Anthology of Folk Horror

These are the stories that haunt us.

A cemetery full of the restless dead. A town so wicked it has already burned twice, with the breath of the third fire looming. A rural, isolated bridge with a terrifying monster waiting for the completion of its summoning ritual. A lake that allows the drowned to return, though they have been changed by the claws of death. These are the shadowed, liminal spaces where the curses and monsters lurk, refusing to be forgotten.

Hauntings, and a variety of horrifying secrets, lurk in the places we once called home. Written by New York Times bestselling, and other critically acclaimed, authors these stories shed a harsh light on the scariest tales we grew up with.

Author: Hannah F. Whitten
First Release: 2022
ISBN: 979-8890030542
Publisher: Page Street YA

The Nightshade Kingdom Books

The Foxglove King

A young woman’s secret power to raise the dead plunges her into the dangerous and glamorous world of the Sainted King’s royal court.

When Lore was thirteen, she escaped a cult in the catacombs beneath the city of Dellaire. And in the ten years since, she’s lived by one rule: don’t let them find you. Easier said than done, when her death magic ties her to the city.

Mortem, the magic born from death, is a high-priced and illicit commodity in Dellaire, and Lore’s job running poisons keeps her in food, shelter, and relative security. But when a run goes wrong and Lore’s power is revealed, she’s taken by the Presque Mort, a group of warrior-monks sanctioned to use Mortem working for the Sainted King. Lore fully expects a pyre, but King August has a different plan. Entire villages on the outskirts of the country have been dying overnight, seemingly at random. Lore can either use her magic to find out what’s happening and who in the King’s court is responsible, or die.

Lore is thrust into the Sainted King’s glittering court, where no one can be believed and even fewer can be trusted. Guarded by Gabriel, a duke-turned-monk, and continually running up against Bastian, August’s ne'er-do-well heir, Lore tangles in politics, religion, and forbidden romance as she attempts to navigate a debauched and opulent society.

But the life she left behind in the catacombs is catching up with her. And even as Lore makes her way through the Sainted court above, they might be drawing closer than she thinks.

Author: Hannah F. Whitten
First Release: 2023
ISBN: 978-0316435093
Publisher: Orbit
The Hemlock Queen

The corrupt king August is dead. Prince Bastian has seized the throne and raised Lore—a necromancer and former smuggler—to his right-hand side. Together they plan to cut out the rot from the heart of the royal court and help the people of Dellaire. But not everyone is happy with the changes. 

The nobles are sowing dissent, the Kirythean Empire is beating down their door, and Lore’s old allies are pulling away. Even Prince Bastian has changed. No longer the hopeful, rakish, charismatic man Lore knows and loves, instead he’s become reckless, domineering, and cold.

And something has been whispering in her ear. A voice, dark and haunting, that’s telling her there’s more to the story than she knows and more to her power than she can even imagine. A truth buried deep that could change everything.

With Bastian’s coronation fast approaching and enemies whispering on all sides, Lore must figure out how to protect herself, her prince, and her country before they all come crumbling down and whatever dark power has been creeping through the catacombs is unleashed.

Author: Hannah F. Whitten
First Release: 2024
Ebook: B0C2PL6G6C
Publisher: Orbit

The Wilderwood

For the Wolf

The first daughter is for the Throne.

The second daughter is for the Wolf.

A young woman must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn't the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose—to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he'll return the world's captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can't control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can't hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn't learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood—and her world—whole.

Author: Hannah F. Whitten
First Release: 2021
ISBN: 978-0316592789
Publisher: Orbit
For the Throne

The First Daughter is for the Throne. The Second Daughter is for the Wolf...

Red and the Wolf have finally contained the threat of the Old Kings but at a steep cost. Red's beloved sister Neve, the First Daughter is lost in the Shadowlands, an inverted kingdom where the vicious gods of legend have been trapped for centuries and the Old Kings have slowly been gaining control. But Neve has an ally, though it's one she'd rather never have to speak to again: the rogue king Solmir.

Solmir wants to bring an end to the Shadowlands and he believes helping Neve may be the key to its destruction. But to do that, they will both have to journey across a dangerous landscape in order to find a mysterious Heart Tree, and finally to claim the gods' dark, twisted powers for themselves.

Author: Hannah F. Whitten
First Release: 2022
ISBN: 978-0316592819
Publisher: Orbit